Dillmann beats Nissany to race two pole at Spa

Tom Dillmann - Credit: Formula V8 3.5

Frenchman Tom Dillmann confirmed himself again as a great qualifier as he secured his fourth pole position in six races for race two at Spa-Francorchamps on Sunday.

The AVF driver secured the top spot with a great last lap, with his 1m59.745s denying Lotus driver Roy Nissany his maiden pole position by just 0.016s. Nissany will be buoyed by the fact that he’ll start on the front row of the grid for the second time in 2016, having done so in race two at the Hungaroring.

Behind Dillmann and Nissany on row two will be Aurélien Panis of Arden Motorsport and Matthieu Vaxiviere of SMP Racing, with both hoping for better races on Sunday than they achieved on Saturday.

Vitor Baptista continued his recent upward swing of form with the fifth fastest time of the session for RP Motorsport, with Louis Deletraz sixth for Fortec Motorsports ahead of the second AVF of Alfonso Celis Jr and the second Lotus of Rene Binder.

Matevos Isaakyan placed his SMP Racing machine into ninth, while Pietro Fittipaldi completed the top ten for Fortec Motorsports.

Race one winner Egor Orudzhev will start down in fourteenth after stopping on track with an issue at the Brussels corner, ahead only of Giuseppe Cipriani, who caused yellow flags to fly after stopping at Pouhon.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Qualifying Result

116Tom DillmannFRAAVF1m59.745s
24Roy NissanyISRLotus1m59.761s
38Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1m59.816s
423Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing2m00.060s
522Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport2m00.100s
61Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports2m00.161s
715Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF2m00.235s
83Rene BinderAUTLotus2m00.253s
926Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing2m00.404s
102Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports2m00.454s
1125Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport2m00.538s
1221Johnny Cecotto JrVENRP Motorsport2m00.614s
136Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport2m00.904s
147Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport2m01.709s
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team2m04.917s