Formula 1

Formula 1 fires back in to action with Barcelona in-season testing

1 Mins read

The first Formula 1 in-season test will take place this week as Circuit de Catalunya plays host tomorrow (Tuesday) and Wednesday following the Spanish Grand Prix.

This test will see two of the four days of in-season testing carried out, with the F1 sporting regulations allowing tests of no more than two consecutive days. The regulations also state that each team must allocate at least two of the four days for young driver testing.

Lewis Hamilton will not appear for the test for Mercedes AMG PETRONAS, allowing Nico Rosberg and Esteban Ocon to share the driving duties. Scuderia Ferrari will run 2016 driver Sebastian Vettel on the opening day while GP3 driver Antonio Fuoco will take over on Wednesday.

Alex Lynn, development driver for Williams Martini Racing will be given his second F1 outing when he takes the wheel of the FW38 on Tuesday. Felipe Massa will return to the cockpit for the second day. McLaren-Honda will start their test programme with Jenson Button while GP2 series champion Stoffel Vandoorne will take over on Wednesday.

Red Bull Racing will split the driver duties between Spanish Grand Prix winner Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo. Allowing more time for Verstappen ahead of Monaco, having only completed one race weekend with the Milton Keynes; this move means that for the second test later this season that the former champions will have to run two rookies.

Another driver looking for more seat time is Daniil Kvyat for Scuderia Toro Rosso who shares the car with GP2 championship leader Pierre Gasly.

Sahara Force India have chosen to run Alfonso Celis Jr for both days of testing, while Ocon will have the unique opportunity to two test for two teams as he gets a chance in the RS16 for Renault SportKevin Magnussen will take over on Wednesday as the team tests their B-spec engine.

For Haas, like Red Bull, there will be no young drivers present so Romain Grosjean will test on Tuesday and Esteban Gutierrez on the second day. Pascal Wehrlein and development driver, Jordan King will run for Manor Racing.

Only ten teams will participate in the in-season test after Sauber confirmed earlier this month that they will miss the event.

[table id=1085 /]

Related posts
Formula 1

Todt Issues Warning to Mazepin About Consequences of any Further Controversies

2 Mins read
Nikita Mazepin has been warned by FIA President Jean Todt that they’ll be ‘serious consequences’ should the Russian find himself involved in any further off-track controversies.
Formula 1

Pirelli Motorsport Signs One-Year Extension to Formula 1 Contract Until End of 2024

2 Mins read
Pirelli will remain as Formula 1’s sole tyre manufacturer until at least the end of the 2024 season.
Formula 1

Pirelli Motorsport Announce 2021 Testing Plan for Eighteen-Inch 2022 Tyres

2 Mins read
Nine teams will test Pirelli’s 2022 tyres during the 2021 season as Formula 1’s sole tyre manufacturer plans for the introduction of eighteen-inch tyres.

Leave a Reply