Formula V8 3.5

Rene Binder fastest during Spa Collective Tests

1 Mins read

Rene Binder used a new set of tyres to his advantage to set the pace during the collective test sessions at Spa-Francorchamps on Friday.

The Austrian took his Charouz-run Lotus to the top during the faster second session of the day at the Belgian track, with his lap time of 1m58.983s seeing him end 0.515s faster than Yu Kanamaru.

Kanamaru had set the earlier pace in the morning session, with the Teo Martin Motorsport driver setting a time of 1m59.991s, 0.032s faster than Hungaroring race winner Johnny Cecotto Jr of RP Motorsport, with Matthieu Vaxiviere third for SMP Racing.

Motorland Aragon race winner Louis Deletraz and team-mate Pietro Fittipaldi completed the top five during the morning session for Fortec Motorsport, with Beitske Visser sixth for Teo Martin Motorsport ahead of Matevos Isaakyan of SMP Racing and Roy Nissany of Lotus.

Alfonso Celis Jr, fresh off the back of his two-day test with the Sahara Force India team at the Circuit de Catalunya on Tuesday and Wednesday, returned to his regular AVF Formula V8 3.5 drive, and set the ninth fastest time in the opening session, with Egor Orudzhev of Arden Motorsport completing the top ten.

Deletraz finished third behind Binder and Kanamaru in the afternoon session, with Tom Dillmann and Celis Jr fourth and fifth for AVF, with Orudzhev, Vaxiviere, Visser, Cecotto Jr and Isaakyan completing the top ten.

Spa-Francorchamps Collective Test 1 Times

[table id=1100 /]

Spa-Francorchamps Collective Test 2 Times

[table id=1101 /]

Related posts
Formula V8 3.5

Season Review: 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 – Fittipaldi Takes Final Crown

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 season, the final year of the category.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5

Fittipaldi Remains Focused on Reaching F1 after Formula V8 3.5 Triumph

1 Mins read
Pietro Fittipaldi wants to become the next Brazilian Formula 1 driver after taking the final World Series Formula V8 3.5 title last weekend in Bahrain.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5Opinion

OPINION: Formula V8 3.5 - The necessary casualty of the FIA's superlicense overhaul

5 Mins read
The FIA’s superlicense changes set in motion a fatal chain of events for 3.5 series racing. However. was it a sacrifice worth making?

Leave a Reply