Strategy calls enables Deletraz to deny Nissany Paul Ricard win

Louis Deletraz - Credit: Formula V8 3.5

A superior strategy from Louis Deletraz enabled the Swiss driver to secure his second victory of the season and deny long time race leader Roy Nissany his first.

Deletraz was running third early in the race behind Nissany and Egor Orudzhev, but his Fortec Motorsports team decided to bring him in for his mandatory pit stop as early as lap eight, and with the duo at the front pitting much later during the pit stop window, it was Deletraz who took over the lead.

Lotus driver Nissany attempted to close down the gap over the closing laps but ran out of time, finishing 2.878 seconds shy for his second runners-up spot of probably his best weekend of his Formula V8 3.5 series career to date.

Arden Motorsport’s Orudzhev pitted the lap before Nissany but was unable to remain with the Israeli driver in the closing stages, finishing 6.844 seconds behind the driver he battled hard with for the opening race win on Saturday.

Aurélien Panis secured fourth, also for Arden, but was almost four seconds away from his team-mate, while Rene Binder was on the tail of Panis in fifth in the second Lotus.

It was a quiet afternoon for championship leader Tom Dillmann, who after starting eighth could only climb to sixth, with the AVF driver never truly in contention for any better result than he managed.

Pietro Fittipaldi was seventh for Fortec Motorsports ahead of AVF’s Alfonso Celis Jr, while Artur Janosz secured points for RP Motorsport in ninth ahead of Beitske Visser of Teo Martin Motorsport.

It was a disappointing day for SMP Racing, who after seeing Matevos Isaakyan qualify inside the top ten left the track pointless, the Russian losing lots of time in the pits due to a slow pit stop, while team-mate Matthieu Vaxiviere retired with just a handful of laps remaining while running outside of the top ten.

Paul Ricard Race 2 Result

11Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports23 Laps
24Roy NissanyISRLotus+2.878
37Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport+9.722
48Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport+13.381
53Rene BinderAUTLotus+14.317
616Tom DillmannFRAAVF+22.114
72Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports+23.489
815Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF+24.984
921Artur JanoszPOLRP Motorsport+32.318
106Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport+37.204
1125Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport+39.792
1226Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing+40.632
1320Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team+1:37.173
RET23Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP RacingRetired
RET22Vitor BaptistaBRZRP MotorsportRetired