Audi Sport complete a front-row lockout in Nürburgring Qualifying

by Umar Hassan

Audi Sport Team Joest completed a front-row lockout of the grid in Qualifying for Sunday’s 6 Hours of Nürburgring.

The #7 Audi R18 crew set their fastest time in changeable conditions with Marcel Fässler and André Lotterer. Fässler and Lotterer set an average time of 1:39.444 on a damp to drying track to claim Pole Position for tomorrow’s race, ahead of the #8 crew of Lucas di Grassi, Loïc Duval and Oliver Jarvis in second, over two-tenths behind their team-mates.

After dominating all three Free Practice sessions, Porsche had to settle for the second row as the #1 919 Hybrid of Mark Webber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley qualified in third place. While the #2 crew of Marc Lieb, Romain Dumas and Neel Jani were fourth as the top four LMP1 cars were separated within nearly half a second of each other at the end of Qualifying.

The Toyota Gazoo Racing’s #6 and #5 crews in the TS050 were fifth and sixth respectively. Whilst the #13 Rebellion Racing crew of Mathéo Tuscher, Dominik Kraihamer and Alexandre Imperatori in seventh.

Bringing up the LMP1 rear is the #4 Bykolles Racing Team of Simon Trummer, Oli Webb and Pierre Kaffer in eighth, while the sister #12 Rebellion Racing crew of Nicolas Prost, Nick Heidfeld and Mathias Beche in ninth place.

Audi Sport’s Fässler said after qualifying on Pole “We were instantly very fast today. A thank you goes to our new engineer Erik Schuivens. It’s a shame that our teammate Benoît Tréluyer can’t be with us today. We’re in close contact with him and he’s sharing the thrill with us.

LMP2 – G-Drive Racing continue 100% qualifying record at Nürburgring

Credit: Craig Robertson /

Credit: Craig Robertson /

G-Drive Racing continued their perfect record in Qualifying this year in the 2016 FIA WEC season as René Rast, Roman Rusinov and Alex Brundle put their ORECA 05 Nissan in Pole Position for Sunday’s 6 Hours of Nürburgring.

The #26 G-Drive Racing crew put in an average time of 1:48.984 to lead the LMP2 class for tomorrow’s race, ahead of the #36 Signatech Alpine Nissan outfit of Gustavo Menezes, Nicolas Lapierre and Stéphane Richelmi by more than seven tenths of a second in second place.

Strakka Racing in the #42 Gibson Nissan with Nick Leventis, Lewis Williamson and Jonny Kane were third, only +0.035 down on the #36 Signatech Alpine Nissan. RGR Sport by Morand’s #43 crew were fourth, while the #44 Manor crew were fifth.

SMP Racing’s #27 Nissan outfit were sixth, while the #31 Extreme Speed Motorsports crew who qualified seventh, ahead of the #45 sister Manor of Roberto Merhi, Matthew Rao and Richard Bradley in eighth place.

To complete the eleven qualifiers in the LMP2 class for the 6 Hours of Nürburgring is the other #37 crew of SMP Racing, #35 Baxi DC Racing Alpine and #30 Extreme Speed Motorsport crews in ninth, tenth and eleventh places respectively.

Tomorrow’s 6 Hours of Nürburgring will have lights out at 12.00pm UK time as the teams and cars will be ready to battle on one of the most famous tracks in the world in the Nürburgring.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More