FIA World Rally Championship

Latvala leads Shakedown for Rally Finland

1 Mins read

Jari-Matti Latvala has made his quest for a third Rally Finland win in three years by leading Shakedown in Ruuhimäki.

The Volkswagen Motorsport driver put in a 2:05.5 in the Polo R, which is half a second better than his championship-leading team-mate Sébastien Ogier in second place with a 2:06.0.

Latvala’s second team-mate, Rally Poland-winner Andreas Mikkelsen was third, only slightly behind the French team-mate who pipped him for second. This meant Volkswagen had a top-three lockout coming into the opening stage later today in Harju.

Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville was the first of the i20’s in fourth place, while M-Sport’s Mads Østberg was fifth. Neuville’s team-mate Hayden Paddon was sixth in the second i20.

Ott Tänak in the DMACK World Rally Team Ford Fiesta was in seventh place despite having to put the heartbreak of losing the Rally Poland win aside. Completing the rest of the top ten finishers for Shakedown were Kris Meeke, Craig Breen and Kevin Abbring.

While Rally Finland is no stranger to high-speed crashes, the 2016 Silk Way Rally runner-up Yazeed Al Rajhi did crash out in Harju with his Yazeed Racing-liveried Ford Fiesta RS with experienced co-driver Michael Park. The Saudi Arabian finished Shakedown in thirty-third place.

The World Rally Championship 2016 edition of Rally Finland starts later on today at 17.00 (local time) with SS1 in Harju where the rally will officially begin.

295 posts

About author
Third Year Birmingham City University Journalism student. I've been dedicating most of my life in motorsport to Formula One. I also have a keen passion for rallying and motorcycle racing.
Related posts
FIA World Rally ChampionshipIndyCarRace of Champions

Helio Castroneves, Benito Guerra Jr. form ROC Team Latin America

3 Mins read
For the 2022 Race of Champions, Team Latin America will be represented by reigning Indianapolis 500 winner Hélio Castroneves and World Rally Championship driver Benito Guerra Jr.
FIA World Rally Championship

Solberg and Sordo Confirmed to Share Third Car at Hyundai in 2022

2 Mins read
Oliver Solberg and Dani Sordo will be sharing the third Hyundai i20 N Rally1 car in next year alongside the full-time drivers Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak
FIA World Rally Championship

Breen Signs Multi-Year Deal with M-Sport for 2022/23

3 Mins read
Creig Breen signs a multi-year deal with M-Sport Ford World Rally Team and it will be his first full-time seat in WRC in a long time