Formula V8 3.5

Nissany leads Lotus 1-2 in opening Silverstone practice

1 Mins read
Formula V8 Silverstone July 22nd ©Paul Davies Photography NO UNAUTHORISED USE

Roy Nissany was quickest in the first of the two collective test sessions of the Formula V8 3.5 Series weekend at Silverstone on Friday.

The Israeli driver set a best time of 1:41.843 to top the session, with Nissany 0.832 seconds clear of the field, which was led by his Lotus team-mate Rene Binder.

Just the thirteen competitors are entered this weekend at Silverstone, with both SMP Racing and RP Motorsport down to one car due to conflicting race weekends for Matevos Isaakyan and Artur Janosz in Hungary for the GP3 Series.

Louis Deletraz was third quickest during the session for Fortec Motorsports, with his best time just 0.030 seconds down on Binder, while Aurélien Panis was fourth for Arden Motorsport, a further 0.112 seconds down on the Swiss driver.

SMP Racing’s sole representative this weekend, Matthieu Vaxiviere was fifth ahead of current championship leader Tom Dillmann, with the AVF driver setting a time identical to the hundredth of a second to that of seventh placed Pietro Fittipaldi in the second Fortec.

Yu Kanamaru was the best placed of the Teo Martin Motorsport entries in eighth, 1.680 seconds off the pace of Nissany, while Vitor Baptista of RP Motorsport and Egor Orudzhev of Arden completed the top ten.

Sahara Force India reserve driver Alfonso Celis Jr was eleventh fastest for AVF ahead of Teo Martin’s Beitske Visser, while Giuseppe Cipriani was thirteenth and last for Durango, almost five seconds off the pace.

Silverstone Collective Test 1 Result

[table id=1295 /]

12488 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula V8 3.5

Season Review: 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 – Fittipaldi Takes Final Crown

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 season, the final year of the category.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5

Fittipaldi Remains Focused on Reaching F1 after Formula V8 3.5 Triumph

1 Mins read
Pietro Fittipaldi wants to become the next Brazilian Formula 1 driver after taking the final World Series Formula V8 3.5 title last weekend in Bahrain.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5Opinion

OPINION: Formula V8 3.5 - The necessary casualty of the FIA's superlicense overhaul

5 Mins read
The FIA’s superlicense changes set in motion a fatal chain of events for 3.5 series racing. However. was it a sacrifice worth making?