Asian Le Mans Sprint cup returns Malaysia for round two

After a successful opening round, held a little over two months ago at the Sepang International Circuit, the Asian Le Mans Sprint cup returns to the venue for another pair of one hour races as the halfway mark of the championship approaches.

The entry list for round two is very similar to that of round one.  The ten cars that competed in the opening round all return, and PS Racing have entered an ADESS 03 into the LMP3 class, boosting the category to six cars as they join Eurasia Motorsport (Ligier JSP3), DC Racing (Ligier JSP3), Team AAI (ADESS 03) Nexus Infinity (ADESS 03) and PRT Racing (Ginetta LMP3).  Italians, Angelo Negro and Philippe Prette are scheduled to drive the new entry.

The only other change for round two on the provisional entry list is at Eurasia Motorsport, where Thailand’s Tanart Sathienthirakul replaces Matthew Solomon in their Ligier JSP3 LMP3 entry.  Sathienthirakul is no stranger to Asian motorsport or to the team, he raced with them in 2013 in the Formula Masters China Series.  In addition to the Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup, he also competes in the Renault Sport Trophy where he currently sits in sixth place in the championship.

The competition in LMP3 during the last round of the championship was incredibly strong.  All three constructors were represented on the podium over the two races, and there is everything to play for with four races remaining.  Eurasia Motorsport lead Nexus Infinity and PRT Racing by a healthy margin of twenty-four points but that is by no means an insurmountable margin.

Although the Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup hasn’t had a race since the end of May, several teams from the Asian championship travelled to France in June to take part in the ‘Road to Le Mans’ event.  A special one hour race for LMP3 and GT3 cars held on the  Circuit de la Sarthe on morning of the famous 24 Hours of Le Mans endurance classic.  Representing the Asian Sprint Cup were, DC Racing (who won the race), PS Racing and Eurasia Motorsport.

PS Racing continue to field the only entry into the CN class with their Ligier JS53 and the GT Cup Category will once again have four cars, represented by Team Lotus HK (three Lotuses) and the Porsche GT3 Cup car from NZ Racing.