EuroFormula OpenGB3Masters of Formula 3

Four British F3 representatives to feature at Masters of Formula 3

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship / Thomas Suer

For the first time since 2014, representatives from the British Formula 3 Championship will compete in the Masters of Formula 3. Racing for Carlin, the pair of Colton Herta and Ameya Vaidyanathan have qualified because of the series, as well as Nikita Mazepin and Australia’s Thomas Randle.

The news was notable as it ended speculation that the BRDC British F3 Championship would not allow drivers to qualify on accord of its non-Formula 3 specifications.

It also opens the door to suggestion that the series will allow driver to qualify for the prestigious Macau Grand Prix. If this is the case, it could cement the role of EuroFormula Open, which allowed Yarin Stern to qualify for this non-championship event last year.

Both the BRDC F3 and soon the EF Open series will hold the title of F3 Light. With the proven qualification to compete in the these events, it could open the door for other national F3 championships to be re-established in coming years.

Randle, a last minute entry, will compete for Double R Racing as their sole driver. Poignantly, the last time the team competed was in 2014, with the last two British F3 drivers; Andy Chang and Camren Kaminsky.

“This is just a great opportunity and despite the short notice when it came up I jumped at it.” said Randle. “Double R Racing field very competitive machinery and the car I am driving was driven to third place by Alexander Sims at Macau last year so I’m sure it will serve me well.”

“I loved every second of driving the Dallara F3 when I did the Valencia test late last year and the Zandvoort circuit looks like it will suit my style.”

So far, 16 drivers have been announced for the event at Zandvoort this weekend. As well as a number of drivers for the FIA European Formula 3 Championship, #18 Ricky Capo will represent the Australian Formula 3 Championship for the first time in the Master’s 24 year history.

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts

Flack gets first GB3 win in Race 3 at Silverstone

1 Mins read
Marcos Flack took his first GB3 win in Race 3 at Silverstone on Sunday, clearing off despite drama behind him.

Lebbon survives late puncture to win GB3 Race 2 at Silverstone

2 Mins read
Tom Lebbon is a two-time GB3 race winner after surviving late contact with Callum Voisin to win Race 2 at Silverstone.

Granfors ignites GB3 title race with Silverstone Race 1 win

1 Mins read
Joel Granfors closed the gap to Luke Browning in the GB3 standings by 24 points by winning Race 1 at Silverstone, ahead of Callum Voisin.