Mazepin Puts Icing on Maiden Snetterton Weekend with R2 Win

1 Mins read
Credit: Craig Robertson /

Despite losing the lead at the start, Nikita Mazepin fought back to the front to win in BRDC British F3. His result ensures the Russian collects his first ever win. It was also the first time that none of the top six in the championship finished on the podium.

There was intrigue before the race had even started, with Ben Hingeley pitting after smoke billowed from his car during the formation lap around Snetterton. He was joined in the pits by Enaam Ahmed, both would later rejoin in clear air.

Tarun Reddy made a lightning start running around the outside into the first corner and taking the lead. It didn’t last long though as polesitter Nikita Mazepin fought his way back to the front. A frantic opening lap saw a number of changes with Harrison Scott also moving up to third.

Scott had jumped slightly away from his grid spot but was not punished as he moved ahead of Thomas Randle. Mazepin eventually broke away from Reddy as Scott and Randle continued their battle.

Further back, Matheus Leist had kept seventh place in front of Ricky Collard. The Carlin driver was more concerned about setting a quick lap and even found himself in trouble with track limits during the middle of the race.

The race for fastest lap soon became the name of the game as Toby Sowery, in fifth, used his free air to set the benchmark. Ahmed would prove to be his closest competitor running in free air at the back.

Leist soon made his way past team mate Aleksanteri Huovinen putting a buffer to his rival and closing the points gap in the championship. With the free air, Leist beat Sowery’s lap record. Collard knew this and sacrificed a quick lap to also make his way past the Finn.

As the final laps counted down, Mazepin look to consolidate his lead, building a one and a half second gap to Reddy. Elsewhere, Hingeley set the fastest lap after fixing his car, ensuring he’ll be on pole for race three from Scott and Leist.

Mazepin took his first ever win in single-seater cars from Reddy and Scott. Randle will be disappointed with just fourth after yesterday. Sowery was fifth from Leist and Collard, with Huovinen rounding out the top eight.

1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts

Callum Voisin: "No reason we can't be up there" in GB3

6 Mins read
Callum Voisin was the first driver to be announced for the 2022 GB3 Championship season. TCF caught up with him just after he was announced at Carlin.

British F4 champion Rees stays with JHR as team returns to GB3

2 Mins read
JHR Developments will return to the GB3 grid for a full season in 2022. They made one of the least surprising driver announcements of the off-season on Wednesday by retaining British F4 champion Matthew Rees.

Hillspeed announce Gilkes for 2022 GB3 campaign

3 Mins read
Hillspeed have announced their first driver for the 2022 GB3 Championship, as Ontario and Canadian F1600 champion Nick Gilkes joins the team.