Baptista and Binder top Friday test sessions in Monza

Vitor Baptista - Credit: Formula V8 3.5

Vitor Baptista and Rene Binder were the pacesetters as the Formula V8 3.5 weekend got underway with the two collective test sessions at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Friday.

The morning session saw RP Motorsport racer Baptista set the pace despite the Brazilian causing a late red flag with a spin at the Ascari Chicane that caused the premature ending to the session.

His best time of 1:35.545 was enough for him to lead the session by 0.177 seconds from LotusRoy Nissany, who will be looking to pick himself up after a disappointing weekend at the Red Bull Ring last time out.

Louis Deletraz, who currently sits second in the championship standings, was third quickest for Fortec Motorsports ahead of Arden Motorsport’s Egor Orudzhev, while AVF by Adrian VallésAlfonso Celis Jr completed the top five.

The afternoon session was a far quicker affair, with Binder putting his Lotus on top with a best time of 1:33.877, which meant he was 0.039 seconds faster than Orudzhev, while the second Arden of Aurélien Panis was third quickest.

Championship leader Tom Dillmann was fourth quickest after ending the opening session down in eighth, while Nissany completed the top five.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Collective Test 1 Result

122Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:35.545
24Roy NissanyISRLotus1:35.722
31Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:35.757
47Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:35.804
515Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:35.951
63Rene BinderAUTLotus1:36.233
78Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:36.234
816Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:36.345
92Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:36.440
1023Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:36.505
1121William BullerGBRRP Motorsport1:36.630
1225Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:37.118
136Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:37.442
1420Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:39.038

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Collective Test 2 Result

13Rene BinderAUTLotus1:33.877
27Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:33.916
38Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:33.980
416Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:33.997
54Roy NissanyISRLotus1:34.091
621William BullerGBRRP Motorsport1:34.189
723Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:34.230
81Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:34.466
96Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:34.576
1022Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:34.695
1115Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:34.743
122Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:34.911
1325Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:34.929
1420Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:36.815