Deletraz denies Vaxiviere opening Red Bull Ring pole

by Paul Hensby

Louis Deletraz left it to the last moments of qualifying on Saturday morning at the Red Bull Ring to grab pole position, his first of his rookie Formula V8 3.5 season.

The Fortec Motorsports driver denied Matthieu Vaxiviere a third consecutive pole by setting a time of 1:15.914, just 0.080 seconds faster than the SMP Racing driver, with the top two the only drivers to dip below 1:16 during the session.

Championship leader Tom Dillmann was third quickest for AVF by Adrian Vallés, 0.190 seconds back on Deletraz, while Egor Orudzhev was fourth for Arden Motorsport, a further 0.013 seconds back.

Yu Kanamaru was fifth for Teo Martin Motorsport, only 0.252 seconds behind the pole time, while Alfonso Celis Jr placed the second AVF machine into sixth.

Roy Nissany, a double winner last time out at Silverstone, was unable to better seventh on the grid in the leading Lotus, with Vitor Baptista eighth for RP Motorsport, while Rene Binder, fastest in both test sessions at the Red Bull Ring on Friday, was unable to better ninth on the grid in the second Lotus.

Matevos Isaakyan completed the top ten in the second SMP Racing machine ahead of a disappointed Aurélien Panis of Arden Motorsport, while Beitske Visser was twelfth for Teo Martin Motorsport.

Pietro Fittipaldi will be another driver disappointed with the session, ending 0.982 seconds behind team-mate Deletraz down in thirteenth, while Marco Bonanomi ended fourteenth on his single seater return for RP Motorsport.

Giuseppe Cipriani once again brought up the rear of the field for the Durango Racing Team, and brought out the yellow flags after a brief off-track moment at turn eight.

Red Bull Ring Race 1 Qualifying Result

11Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:15.914
223Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:15.994
316Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:16.104
47Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:16.117
525Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:16.166
615Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:16.257
74Roy NissanyISRLotus1:16.360
822Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:16.414
93Rene BinderAUTLotus1:16.442
1026Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1:16.451
118Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:16.585
126Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:16.708
132Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:16.896
1421Marco BonanomiITARP Motorsport1:17.435
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:18.852

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More