Ahmed Wins In Excessive Foggy Conditions After First Lap Contact

Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Enaam Ahmed led from start to finish to win the BRDC British F3 Autumn Trophy. The race, which had been heavily delayed resulted in a number of incidents in the fog. After the third round it was deemed too foggy to race and the meeting was abandoned.

Qualifying had been cancelled thanks to the treacherous conditions at Snetterton. The fog had delayed the start and the grid, put in championship order, tentatively made their way onto the track. This meant that Ahmed was on pole, leading the pack away.

Elsewhere, Tarun Reddy had been given a five place grid penalty, so chose to start from the pitlane, just like Marcus Armstrong who wanted to avoid any first corner incidents.

Ahmed and Jamie Caroline appeared to make the best start, but it wasn’t to be for Dan Ticktum, who hit Ahmed because of the minimal visibility. Ticktum spun and retired with the field being flung in multiple directions. Ticktum would take the incident to the stewards after the race.

The incident caused chaos behind as James Pull ran onto the grass, while Ben Hingeley also found himself involved, ending up further off the grass.

A safety car had been called leaving Ahmed leading from Joey Mawson. By the time the racing had got back underway, the fog seemed slightly worse though the drivers remained mature at the second attempt. Mawson and Ahmed swapped fastest laps as they broke away from the pack behind.

Caroline, who was now third, seemed unable to keep up with the field in front as he was closed down by Callan O’Keeffe. The South Africa was not without pressure though as Cameron Das kept himself with visible distance.

Mawson appeared to have the speed and confidence in second, but with two laps to go he outbreaked himself in the first sector and lost any opportunity to fight. This left the championship leader free to extend his lead in front of his closest rival Mawson, while Caroline completed the charge.

O’Keeffe would be classified fourth as Das and Sasakorn Chaimongkol completed the top six. The final race order would have been settled by the fastest laps ensuring Mawson would be on pole from Marcus Armstrong. Though poor conditions cancelled the rest of the weekend.

Ahmed was thus crowned the Autumn Trophy champion an hour later.