Last gap Nissany denies Binder Monza pole

Roy Nissany - Credit: Formula V8 3.5

Roy Nissany secured his second pole position of the weekend in the dying moments of a damp qualifying session at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza.

The Lotus driver set a best time of 1:34.798 to deny team-mate Rene Binder by 0.180 seconds as the Charouz-run team locked out the front row in Italy, and Nissany will be looking to convert the pole position into a second race victory of the weekend having dominated race one on Saturday.

William Buller was an excellent third on the grid for RP Motorsport on his return to the category, with the British racer outpacing championship leader Tom Dillmann of the AVF by Adrian Vallés outfit. Dillmann will be out to recover from a nightmare race on Saturday where he failed to score for the first time in 2016, and as such saw his championship lead slashed from 40 to 22 points.

Egor Orudzhev was the leading Arden Motorsport machine in fifth, but his team-mate Aurélien Panis, who is still in contention for the title this year, was down in thirteenth after failing to get a complete lap together.

Pietro Fittipaldi was the leading rookie in sixth for Fortec Motorsports, two places ahead of team-mate Louis Deletraz, with Teo Martin Motorsports’ Japanese racer Yu Kanamaru in between the duo.

Beitske Visser was ninth for Teo Martin Motorsport, while Matthieu Vaxiviere completed the top ten for SMP Racing ahead of Vitor Baptista, Alfonso Celis Jr, Panis and Giuseppe Cipriani.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Race 2 Qualifying Result

14Roy NissanyISRLotus1:34.798
23Rene BinderAUTLotus1:34.978
321William BullerGBRRP Motorsport1:35.232
416Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:35.269
57Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:35.281
62Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:35.374
725Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:35.418
81Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:35.488
96Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:35.533
1023Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:35.670
1122Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:35.692
1215Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:36.722
138Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:36.847
1420Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:38.007