Michelin Clio Cup Series

Lidsey Wins Opener, Dorlin Takes Title With Second

1 Mins read

James Dorlin has been crowned the provisional 2016 Michelin Clio Cup Series champion after taking a crucial second place finish in the penultimate race of the season at Silverstone.

Dorlin started the race from pole position and knew if he finished ahead of his title rival Brett Lidsey than the title would be his, but a slow launch off the line meant it wouldn’t be that easy.

From third on the grid, Lidsey emerged from the opening lap in the race lead, with Dorlin settling into third position behind reigning Road class champion Luke Pinder.

As Lidsey led the field over the first portion of the race, a three car battle emerged behind between Pinder, Dorlin and Sam Randon, which came to a head at the end of lap five.

As Dorlin stormed past both through Vale and Club, slight contact between Randon and Pinder heading onto the pit straight sent the latter across the track before glancing the pitwall.

Pinder was immediately out of the race, with Randon lasting two more laps before retiring himself, with the final position in the top three being taken by Daniel Kirby.

Ahead, Dorlin closed to within touching distance of the leader, but conscious of not pushing too hard and making a mistake in the tricky wet conditions, he settled for second behind.

Lidsey therefore took the flag for his third victory of the season, with Dorlin securing the title with his eleventh podium finish of the campaign behind.

Kirby would hold off a determined Tom Barley for his first podium finish in the championship, with Tyler Lidsey matching his seasons best finish of fifth ahead of Ben Palmer.

There was late drama in the Road Class meanwhile, with title contender Nic Harrison spinning into the gravel at Stowe corner after running second throughout.

That means race long leader Jack Fabby now holds a 23 point advantage ahead of the final race, meaning simply if he finishes the race penalty-free, he’s champion.

Full race results can be found here.

Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.

Leave a Reply