Orudzhev leads Jerez tests as Aitken impresses

Egor Orudzhev - Credit: Formula V8 3.5

Egor Orudzhev set the overall pace in the collective test sessions at the Circuito de Jerez on Friday, but Formula V8 3.5 debutant Jack Aitken impressed as he topped the second session.

Russian driver Orudzhev was quick out of the blocks at the Spanish circuit, and set a time of 1:28.548 to lead the way for Arden Motorsport, with Aitken slotting into second in his first race in the championship for RP Motorsport, 0.188 seconds adrift.

Aitken actually set the same time as championship leader Tom Dillmann of the AVF by Adrian Vallés squad, but as the Briton set the time first, the Frenchman was forced to settle for third.

Yu Kanamaru and Beitske Visser completed the top five for Teo Martin Motorsport, with the top five separated by just 0.199 seconds, while Aurélien Panis was sixth in the second Arden machine, a further 0.118 seconds down.

Matevos Isaakyan, who missed the previous round at Monza due to his GP3 Series commitments in Malaysia, was seventh quickest for SMP Racing ahead of Fortec MotorsportsLouis Deletraz, with Rene Binder and Vitor Baptista completing the top ten.

Aitken ended the second session on top with a time of 1:29.246, 0.085 seconds faster than Lotus racer Binder, with Isaakyan third ahead of Fortec Motorsport’s Pietro Fittipaldi and the second Lotus of Roy Nissany.

Baptista put his RP Motorsport machine into sixth ahead of another series debutant Thomas Randle, who is making his bow with Comtec Racing, who return to the championship for the first time this season.

Deletraz again was eighth ahead of AVF’s Alfonso Celis Jr, while SMP Racing’s Mathieu Vaxiviere completed the top ten.

Circuito de Jerez Collective Test 1 Result

17Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:28.548
221Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport1:28.736
316Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:28.736
425Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:28.738
56Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:28.747
68Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:28.865
724Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1:29.099
81Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:29.536
93Rene BinderAUTLotus1:29.724
1022Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:29.782
114Roy NissanyISRLotus1:29.830
1223Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:29.917
132Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:30.076
1415Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:30.228
1517Thomas RandleAUSComtec Racing1:31.655
1620Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:33.180

Circuito de Jerez Collective Test 2 Result

121Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport1:29.246
23Rene BinderAUTLotus1:29.331
324Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1:29.556
42Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:29.817
54Roy NissanyISRLotus1:29.888
622Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:29.910
717Thomas RandleAUSComtec Racing1:30.180
81Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:30.721
915Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:30.849
1023Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:31.287
118Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:31.795
1225Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:31.800
1316Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:31.967
147Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:32.475
1520Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:33.576
166Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin MotorsportNo Time