FIA World Rallycross

2016 World RX of Argentina Entry List Announced

1 Mins read

The entry list for the final round of the 2016 FIA World Rallycross Championship, the World RX of Argentina, has been announced and there is an exciting line-up of drivers looking to take the win in what is the final appearance on the World RX Calendar for the South American country at this time.

The headline for the event will be the deciding of the 2016 Teams’ Championship with two of the best teams in World RX in a head to head fight for the title: EKSRX and Team Peugeot-Hansen.

Mattias Ekstrom‘s outfit leads the Teams’ Championship by seventeen points, however with the Swedish driver having already secured the Drivers Championship in Germany, he is well aware of the threat from the Franco-Swedish squad. To add to the pressure already evident, there fifty-two points on offer in Argentina to seal the title so expect Ekstrom and team-mate Topi Heikkinen to go all out against Sebastien Loeb and team-mate Timmy Hansen to secure the crown. As Kenneth Hansen’s team took the honours last year, they will be looking to try and take them again to become the first outfit to be consecutive Champions.


Timo Scheider in the Muennich Motorsport SEAT Ibiza RX Supercar. Credit: IMG / FIA world RX

Two-time DTM Champion Timo Scheider returns to the series to make his third appearance of the season for the Muennich Motorsport team, where he will be looking to take the SEAT Ibiza RX to the Final after making it to the Semi-Finals in Latvia. Team Boss Rene Munnich will be in the second car during the event.

Former Muennich Motorsport driver Reinis Nitiss will complete the season with the OlsbergsMSE team as he stands in for regular driver Niclas Gronholm. The sole JRM World RX entry will be driven by former European Rallycross Championship Group N event-winner Nick Jones will make his World RX debut after having worked as an engineer for the team during this season.

Twelve months ago saw Robin Larsson take a very popular first win at the event and he will be looking to try and repeat that victory whilst Janis Baumanis, who made his debut for World RX Team Austria will be looking to improve on the fast pace he has shown all season.

The full entry list can be found here.

892 posts

About author
I have been a very passionate fan of Motorsport for over 30 years with Touring Cars as my favourite form of Motor Racing. I cover The TCR UK Series, The TCR Europe Series and The FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) as well as following various TCR Series around the world.
Related posts
FIA World Rallycross

Entries for 2021 World RX of Belgium Revealed

2 Mins read
Juha Rytkönen, Hervé “Knapick” Lemonnier, Ollie O’Donovan and Anton Marklund are joining the 11-car field in Spa-Francorchamps on 9/10 October.
FIA World Rallycross

Kristoffersson gearing up with EKS JC for 2021 World RX Season

2 Mins read
In what is sure to be one of the star team-ups in World RX history, Johan Kristoffersson will race for the EKS JC team for the 2021 season.
FIA World Rallycross

Timmy Hansen will challenge for World RX title with Hansen Motorsport

2 Mins read
Timmy Hansen confirms 2021 World RX title assault with family team Hansen Motorsport.