Dillmann and Nissany set the Friday pace in Catalunya

Roy Nissany - Credit: Formula V8 3.5

Tom Dillmann and Roy Nissany were the pacesetters as the final weekend of the Formula V8 3.5 season got underway with the two collective test sessions at the Circuit de Catalunya on Friday.

The championship will be decided this weekend, and seven drivers remain in contention for the title, including both Dillmann and Nissany, as well as Matthieu Vaxiviere, Egor Orudzhev, Aurélien Panis, Rene Binder and current championship leader Louis Deletraz, and drivers had the chance to get acclimatised to the Spanish circuit.

Dillmann set the pace in the first of the two sessions, with the AVF by Adrian Vallés driver setting a time of 1:31.122, 0.109 seconds faster than Lotus driver Nissany, with both drivers looking to make amends for extremely poor results last weekend at the Circuito de Jerez.

Vaxiviere was third for SMP Racing ahead of Teo Martin Motorsport’s Yu Kanamaru, while Pietro Fittipaldi of Fortec Motorsports was fifth ahead of Orudzhev as the top six in the session were separated by just 0.294 seconds.

Nissany led Dillmann in the second session by 0.306 seconds with a time of 1:30.627, while Deletraz set the third best time in the afternoon after finishing down in twelfth in the morning.

Binder, who is the outsider in the championship battle requiring a near miracle to clinch the title, was fourth for Lotus ahead of RP Motorsport’s Jack Aitken and AVF’s Alfonso Celis Jr.

Circuit de Catalunya Collective Test 1 Result

116Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:31.122
24Roy NissanyISRLotus1:31.231
323Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:31.234
425Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:31.293
52Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:31.388
67Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:31.416
724Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1:31.549
86Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:31.572
915Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:31.689
108Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:31.747
1121Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport1:31.798
121Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:31.813
1322Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:32.024
143Rene BinderAUTLotus1:32.650
1517Thomas RandleAUSComtec Racing1:34.089
1620Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:36.255

Circuit de Catalunya Collective Test 2 Result

14Roy NissanyISRLotus1:30.627
216Tom DillmannFRAAVF1:30.933
31Louis DeletrazSWIFortec Motorsports1:31.200
43Rene BinderAUTLotus1:31.366
521Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport1:31.413
615Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1:31.483
72Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1:31.529
825Yu KanamaruJAPTeo Martin Motorsport1:31.657
924Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing1:31.678
1022Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1:31.735
118Aurelien PanisFRAArden Motorsport1:31.735
126Beitske VisserNEDTeo Martin Motorsport1:32.233
1317Thomas RandleAUSComtec Racing1:32.724
1423Matthieu VaxiviereFRASMP Racing1:33.245
157Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1:33.268
1620Giuseppe CiprianiITADurango Racing Team1:35.003