Formula 1

FIA releases 2017 Formula 1 Entry List

1 Mins read
The 2017 entry list has been announced by the FIA - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Just four seats remain unconfirmed following the publication of the 2017 Formula 1 entry list by the FIA on Tuesday.

The most prominent vacancy remains within the Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team, with a TBA in place of the now retired Nico Rosberg, who decided to call it a day following his World Drivers’ Championship triumph in 2016.

A seat also remains empty alongside Marcus Ericsson within the Sauber F1 Team, while neither Manor Racing MRT entry has been filled, with rumours going around about a large investment coming to the Banbury-based team before any drivers get announced.

Pascal Wehrlein is likely to fill one of the vacant seats, and the German, a protégé of Mercedes-Benz, has been linked to all three teams in recent days, while Felipe Nasr is still hopeful of remaining in Formula 1 with either Sauber of Manor.

Away from the driver absentees, although the Scuderia Toro Rosso team have already announced a return to using Renault power next season, they are yet to confirm by which name the engines will be run as, with the team likely to follow in the footsteps of parent team Red Bull Racing in using a different branding.

The two rookies of 2017 have also revealed their numbers, with Stoffel Vandoorne to make his bow with the McLaren Honda Formula 1 Team using the number 2, while 2016 FIA European Formula 3 Champion Lance Stroll will use the number 18 at Williams Martini Racing.

2017 Formula 1 Entry List

[table id=1738 /]

12247 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 1

Turkish Grand Prix the ‘perfect territory for the intermediates’ – Mario Isola

1 Mins read
The intermediate tyre showed just how versatile it was during Sunday’s Turkish Grand Prix, according to Pirelli’s Mario Isola.
Formula 1

“Because there was no real chaos, the result that we drove today was realistic” - Schumacher

2 Mins read
Even though they finished at the back of the pack, both Haas drivers felt they learned a lot during the Turkish Grand Prix amid tricky conditions at Istanbul Park.
Formula 1

Chinese Grand Prix omitted from twenty-three race 2022 Formula 1 Calendar

2 Mins read
Formula 1 has unveiled its latest draft calendar for the 2022 season, with the Chinese Grand Prix dropping off the schedule in favour of a return to Imola.