EKSRX Expands To Three Cars for 2017 World RX Series

2016 FIA World Rallycross Teams Champions EKSRX have confirmed that they will expand to a three car lineup for the 2017 FIA World Rallycross Championship with Reinis Nitiss joining the teams two regular drivers Mattias Ekstrom and Topi Heikkinen.

With Audi Sport confirmed to be backing Ekstrom’s squad this year, Nitiss will compete for points in the Drivers Championship only at the wheel of the teams third S1. Championship regulations state that only two cars can be nominated for Teams Championship points.

The Latvian driver is regarded as one of the fastest of the young drivers in the paddock and is looking forward to driving for the EKSRX outfit.

“Switching to the World Champion’s team is the dream of any racer,” explained Nitiss. “It’s a unique opportunity and I’m exceptionally happy that Audi and EKS is placing its trust in me.”

Reinis Nitiss joined Munnich Motorsport in 2016 and took the new SEAT Ibiza to the Final in France. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

After winning the 2013 European Super1600 title, Nitiss moved up to the World RX Supercar class in 2014 with OlsbergsMSE and went on to take his only win so far at the 2014 World RX of Norway.

After completing 2014 and 2015 seasons with the team, Nitiss moved to Munnich Motorsport last year, however he left after the 2016 World RX of France and returned to the OlsbergsMSE outfit.

Team Boss Mattias Ekstrom is very happy to have the Latvian driver on board for 2017.

“Together with Audi Sport we worked hard to enter three cars in the race and I’m very happy that it worked out,” added Ekstrom. “In Reinis, we have another strong driver. Although he’s only 21 years old, he has gathered a lot of experience in rallycross.”

The first round of the 2017 FIA World Rallycross Championship takes place at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on April 1-2.