Fittipaldi leads Fortec duo on opening day of Aragon testing

Pietro Fittipaldi was quickest on day one at Aragon - Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

The first collective test of the 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 championship got underway at Motorland Aragon on Wednesday, and it was Brazilian Pietro Fittipaldi who set the pace.

The grandson of two-time Formula 1 World Champion Emerson Fittipaldi set a time of 1:41.226 during the afternoon session for his new team Lotus to beat the morning’s best time set by Diego Menchaca and Fortec Motorsports.

Menchaca, who is set to make the jump into Formula V8 3.5 in 2017 after two seasons in EuroFormula Open, set a time of 1:41.496 in a Fortec 1-2 ahead of fellow Mexican Alfonso Celis Jr, while Egor Orudzhev placed third for the renamed SMP Racing by AVF outfit, just ahead of Roy Nissany, who joined the test with RP Motorsport.

Fittipaldi was fifth fastest in the morning ahead of Matevos Isaakyan of AVF and Yu Kanamaru of RP Motorsport and Rene Binder of Lotus, while Barone Rampante duo Damiano Fioravanti and Giuseppe Cipriani rounded out the top ten despite both causing red flags by stopping on track.

Fittipaldi jumped to the head of the field in the afternoon ahead of both Menchaca and Celis Jr, with Isaakyan fourth ahead of Nissany, Kanamaru, Orudzhev, Binder, Fioravanti and Teo Martin Motorsport’s Konstantin Tereschenko.

Canadian racer Nelson Mason was set to run the second Teo Martin Motorsport machine, but completed just one lap across the two sessions.

Diego Menchaca was quickest during the morning session and second overall on Wednesday – Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

Motorland Aragon Test 1 Day 1 AM Times

18Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports1:41.496
27Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports1:41.593
35Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:41.891
411Roy NissanyISRRP Motorsport1:41.955
54Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotus1:42.034
66Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:42.275
712Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport1:42.615
83Rene BinderAUTLotus1:42.983
916Damiano FioravantiITABarone Rampante1:43.722
1015Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante1:44.179
119Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:44.547
1210Nelson MasonCANTeo Martin MotorsportNo Time

Motorland Aragon Test 1 Day 1 PM Times

14Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotus1:41.226
28Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports1:41.282
37Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports1:41.315
46Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:41.363
511Roy NissanyISRRP Motorsport1:41.425
612Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport1:41.444
75Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:42.064
83Rene BinderAUTLotus1:42.209
916Damiano FioravantiITABarone Rampante1:42.765
109Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:42.937
1115Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante1:44.888
1210Nelson MasonCANTeo Martin MotorsportNo Time