F1 China: Vettel leads Ferrari 1-2 in final Shanghai practice

Credit: Scuderia Ferrari

Sebastian Vettel was quickest as drivers finally got some significant track time on Saturday after Friday’s sessions at the Shanghai International Circuit were heavily affected by the weather.

The German led a Scuderia Ferrari one-two in the session ahead of Kimi Raikkonen, with Vettel’s fastest time of 1:33.336s just 0.053 seconds ahead of his Finnish team-mate.

Lewis Hamilton made a mistake at the hairpin on his final run that denied him the opportunity to challenge for top spot, but ultimately the Briton was forced to settle for fourth fastest, just behind Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team team-mate Valtteri Bottas.

Bottas was forced to run without his T-wing after it snapped off his W08 early on during the session, but the Finn did not let that put him off as he set a best time of 1:33.707s, compared to Hamilton’s 1:33.879s.

Felipe Massa ended up as best of the rest behind Ferrari and Mercedes, but the Williams Martini Racing driver was 1.437 seconds down in fifth, ahead of Red Bull Racing duo Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo, while Lance Stroll was an impressive eighth in his first proper session at Shanghai in the second Williams.

Jolyon Palmer was ninth for the Renault Sport Formula 1 Team, while Carlos Sainz Jr completed the top ten for Scuderia Toro Rosso, ahead of Nico Hülkenberg and Kevin Magnussen.

Shanghai International Circuit Free Practice 3 Result

15Sebastian VettelGBRScuderia Ferrari1:33.336-20
27Kimi RaikkonenFINScuderia Ferrari1:33.389+0.053s19
377Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1:33.707+0.371s26
444Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1:33.879+0.543s25
519Felipe MassaBRZWilliams Martini Racing1:34.773+1.437s23
633Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing1:34.946+1.610s20
73Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull Racing1:35.092+1.756s23
818Lance StrollCANWilliams Martini Racing1:35.182+1.846s24
930Jolyon PalmerGBRRenault Sport Formula 1 Team1:35.192+1.856s21
1055Carlos Sainz JrESPScuderia Toro Rosso1:35.223+1.887s24
1127Nico HulkenbergGERRenault Sport Formula 1 Team1:35.449+2.113s22
1220Kevin MagnussenDENHaas F1 Team1:35.521+2.185s22
1311Sergio PerezMEXSahara Force India F1 Team1:35.626+2.290s20
148Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas F1 Team1:35.680+2.344s22
1526Daniil KvyatRUSScuderia Toro Rosso1:35.804+2.468s23
1631Esteban OconFRASahara Force India F1 Team1:35.811+2.475s24
1714Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren Honda Formula 1 Team1:35.912+2.576s17
189Marcus EricssonSWESauber F1 Team1:36.063+2.727s25
192Stoffel VandoorneBELMcLaren Honda Formula 1 Team1:36.221+2.885s21
2036Antonio GiovinazziITASauber F1 Team1:36.705+3.369s24