Two from two for Fittipaldi in Silverstone Qualifying

Pietro Fittipaldi took pole position for race two at Silverstone - Credit: Klaas Norg / Dutch Photo Agency

Pietro Fittipaldi made it two from two as he secured pole position for race two of the season-opening World Series Formula V8 3.5 event at Silverstone, in a qualifying session held in cold and damp conditions.

The track was declared wet at the beginning of the session and it was not long before someone was in trouble, with Konstantin Tereschenko bringing out a full course caution when he spun into the gravel on the approach to the Hangar Straight, while conditions were still tricky as the session concluded, as proved by Giuseppe Cipriani spinning into the gravel at Maggotts to bring out session-ending red flags.

Fittipaldi was again in good form to add race two pole to pole he earned for race one on Friday, with the Lotus driver 0.812 seconds clear of team-mate Rene Binder, who will join him on the front row.

Former Lotus driver Roy Nissany, a double winner at Silverstone last year, will start third on the grid for RP Motorsport, while Nelson Mason, forced to sit out the first qualifying session on Friday due to a licence issue, was back in the car and showed good pace to qualify fourth for Teo Martin Motorsport.

SMP Racing by AVF duo Egor Orudzhev and Matevos Isaakyan will form row three ahead of the leading Fortec Motorsports machine of Diego Menchaca, while RP Motorsport’s Yu Kanamaru was eighth.

Damiano Fioravanti will start ninth for Il Barone Rampante ahead of the second Fortec of Alfonso Celis Jr, while Cipriani and Tereschenko will be at the very back after their issues.

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

14Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotus1:47.787
23Rene BinderAUTLotus1:48.599
311Roy NissanyISRRP Motorsport1:49.271
410Nelson MasonCANTeo Martin Motorsport1:50.672
55Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:51.111
66Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:51.223
78Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports1:51.741
812Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport1:52.808
916Damiano FioravantiITAIl Barone Rampante1:54.408
107Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports1:55.463
1115Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante2:04.984
129Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin MotorsportNo Time