Hansen fastest in final qualifying race at Lydden Hill as chaos reigns

Credit: Jon Hobley / NetworkImages.co.uk

Team-Peugeot Hansen‘s Timmy Hansen broke the deadlock of the PSRX Volkswagen Sweden duo as he topped the times in Q4 ahead of Johan Kristoffersson and Petter Solberg.

There was confusion following the conclusion of the Q4 races after the penultimate race saw chaos on the first lap. Hansen, Toomas Heikkinen and Kevin Eriksson chose to take the joker lap as they blasted away from the start, three-in-to-one didn’t work very well as Eriksson ran wide on the grass and Heikkinen spun in to the plastic barriers, moving them in the process.

When Reinis Nitiss and Ken Block took their joker laps they took the shorter route that had been cleared by the accident, the outcome of this saw the pair both receive a post-race penalty of 2 seconds.

Despite this Block was only dropped to fifth overall, just on position behind Hoonigan teammate Andreas Bakkerud.

Sébastien Loeb took a solid sixth position ahead of Andrew Jordan who took a race win.

Mattias Ekström finished eighth position in Q4 to finish fourth place in the intermediate points.

Despite Heikkinen’s incident he would still manage to scrape through in the semi finals, just two points ahead of Guy Wilks.

The final twelve heading in to the semi-finals are: Solberg, Kristoffersson, Timmy Hansen, Ekström, Bakkerud, Loeb, Block, Eriksson, Jordan, Janis Baumanis, Timur Timerzyanov and Heikkinen.