Pietro Fittipaldi returns to winning ways in Jerez

Pietro Fittipaldi took victory on Sunday in Jerez - Credit: Klaas Norg / Dutch Photo Agency

Pietro Fittipaldi returned to winning ways as he passed Egor Orudzhev on the opening lap to win race two at the Circuito de Jerez on Sunday.

The Lotus driver lost position at the start, falling in behind SMP Racing by AVF’s Orudzhev, but he was not in the mood to hang behind the Russian, and forced his way into the lead before the end of the first lap, sweeping around Orudzhev on the outside of turn three.

From there on in, it was Fittipaldi’s race to lose, but he maintained position until the chequered flag, including through the pit stop cycle, and ultimately won his third race of the season by 4.373 seconds.

Orudzhev secured second place for the third time this season, with his team-mate Matevos Isaakyan taking the final spot on the podium for the second day running. Isaakyan was forced to withstand the pressure from Alfonso Celis Jr throughout, with the two finishing just 0.587 seconds apart.

Rene Binder had a quiet race to fifth in the second Lotus, and now holds only a one-point advantage in the championship standings from team-mate Fittipaldi leaving Jerez.

Damiano Fioravanti was the leading rookie in sixth for RP Motorsport, although he was unable to maintain his starting position of fourth, but he finished ahead of Teo Martin Motorsport duo Konstantin Tereschenko and Nelson Mason, with Diego Menchaca and Yu Kanamaru completing the top ten.

Giuseppe Cipriani was the only other driver to be classified despite retiring on the penultimate lap, with race one winner Roy Nissany finding himself as the only retiree on the twelfth lap, with the RP Motorsport driver pulling into the pits.

The podium trio celebrate in Jerez – Credit: Klaas Norg / Dutch Photo Agency

Circuito de Jerez Race 2 Result

14Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotus42:45.053s
25Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF+4.373s
36Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF+7.577s
47Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports+8.164s
53Rene BinderAUTLotus+10.657s
621Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+11.171s
79Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+28.597s
810Nelson MasonCANTeo Martin Motorsport+29.865s
98Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports+30.226s
1012Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport+30.489s
1115Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante+2 Laps
RET11Roy NissanyISRRP MotorsportRetired