Binder Recovers from Spin to Post Fastest Time in Aragon

Rene Binder was fastest at Motorland Aragon on Friday - Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

Egor Orudzhev topped the opening World Series Formula V8 3.5 Collective Test session at a hot Motorland Aragon on Friday, but it was Rene Binder who set the fastest time of the day in the second session.

Just eleven cars took to the Spanish track on Friday, with Teo Martin Motorsport fielding only one car for Konstantin Tereschenko, but series veteran Orudzhev hit the ground running with a best time of 1:42.808s in the morning session, with the SMP Racing by AVF driver 0.110 seconds faster than Lotus’ Pietro Fittipaldi.

Alfonso Celis Jr ended the session in third for Fortec Motorsports, a further 0.061 seconds down, while Orudzhev’s team-mate Matevos Isaakyan and RP Motorsport’s Yu Kanamaru completed the top five ahead of Diego Menchaca.

The opening session was halted midway through the session to retrieve the stranded car of Binder, who stopped in the second sector after a spin into the gravel trap, but the Austrian recovered to hit the top in the second session with a lap of 1:42.441s.

The Lotus driver was 0.194 seconds faster than RP Motorsport’s Roy Nissany, while Fittipaldi ended up third ahead of Damiano Fioravanti, Celis Jr and Kanamaru.

Motorland Aragon Collective Test 1 Result

15Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:42.808
24Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotus1:42.918
37Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports1:42.979
46Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:43.149
512Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport1:43.250
68Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports1:43.287
711Roy NissanyISRRP Motorsport1:43.603
821Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:44.075
99Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:44.109
1015Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante1:45.840
113Rene BinderAUTLotus1:46.885

Motorland Aragon Collective Test 2 Result

13Rene BinderAUTLotus1:42.441
211Roy NissanyISRRP Motorsport1:42.635
34Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotus1:43.231
421Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1:43.240
57Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports1:44.108
612Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport1:44.607
79Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1:44.939
88Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports1:45.074
96Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:45.104
105Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF1:45.514
1115Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante1:46.760