Mid-season Triple-header a part of 2018 Formula 1 Calendar

The Australian Grand Prix retains its opening race slot on the 2018 calendar - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

The first draft for the 2018 Formula 1 calendar has been released, and it sees the first ever triple-header when the French, Austrian and British Grand Prix run directly after each other.

Twenty-one events make up the calendar, one more race than in 2017, with the Malaysian Grand Prix dropping off to be replaced by the first French Grand Prix since 2008, and a return to the Hockenheimring for the German Grand Prix.

The season once again begins in Australia on 25 March and ends in Abu Dhabi at the end of November, but there have been some switches in the calendar next season.

The Russian Grand Prix, which was round four in 2017, will switch from April to September, while the Azerbaijan Grand Prix moves from its June slot to the end of April.

There are five double headers and one triple header next season, with China and Bahrain, Germany and Hungary, Belgium and Italy, Russia and Japan and United States and Mexico running back to back, while there is that triple header in France, Austria and Great Britain.

The calendar avoids a clash with the 24 Hours of Le Mans for a second consecutive season, while the Indianapolis 500 is likely again to run on the same day as the Monaco Grand Prix.

“We wanted to finalise next season’s calendar early, so that all our stakeholders would have more time to prepare and we have managed it, thanks in part through working closely with the FIA,” said Formula 1 boss Chase Carey.

“The number of races has increased by one compared to the current season. We received numerous requests from those wishing to host a Formula 1 Grand Prix but we wanted the existing promoters to feel that we are putting all our efforts into ensuring that each race is a special event, so that the fans, our most important stakeholders, can enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience.

“If we can do that, then the entire Formula 1 family will reap the benefit.”

2018 Formula 1 Calendar

125 MarchAustralian Grand PrixMelbourne Grand Prix Circuit
28 AprilChinese Grand PrixShanghai International Circuit
315 AprilBahrain Grand PrixBahrain International Circuit
429 AprilAzerbaijan Grand PrixBaku Street Circuit
513 MaySpanish Grand PrixCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
627 MayMonaco Grand PrixMonte Carlo
710 JuneCanadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
824 JuneFrench Grand PrixCircuit Paul Ricard
91 JulyAustrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring
108 July British Grand PrixSilverstone Circuit
1122 JulyGerman Grand PrixHockenheimring
1229 JulyHungarian Grand PrixHungaroring
1326 AugustBelgian Grand PrixCircuit de Spa-Francorchamps
142 SeptemberItalian Grand PrixAutodromo Nazionale Monza
1516 SeptemberSingapore Grand PrixMarina Bay Street Circuit
1630 SeptemberRussian Grand PrixSochi Autodrom
177 OctoberJapanese Grand PrixSuzuka International Racing Course
1821 OctoberUnited States Grand PrixCircuit of the Americas
1928 OctoberMexican Grand PrixAutodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
2011 NovemberBrazilian Grand PrixAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace
2125 NovemberAbu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina Circuit