Orudzhev takes first win of 2017 after Masterful Motorland Display

Egor Orudzhev took his first win of 2017 at Motorland Aragon on Saturday - Credit: Diederik van der Laan / Dutch Photo Agency

Egor Orudzhev secured his first victory of the 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 season in dominant fashion, jumping into the lead at the start and winning by more than thirteen seconds on Saturday afternoon at Motorland Aragon.

But there was disappointment for polesitter Pietro Fittipaldi, who endured yet another poor start to drop down the order before a collision with Konstantin Tereschenko at turn four ended his afternoon and brought out the safety car.

On the races resumption, Orudzhev stole a march on his rivals and was never under threat again, with Roy Nissany and Alfonso Celis Jr being left in his tracks.

Matevos Isaakyan made it a SMP Racing by AVF 1-2 after a sterling driver from eighth on the grid, with the Russian making impressive moves on Yu Kanamaru, Celis Jr and then Nissany to take second place.

Celis Jr kept the pressure on Nissany, with the Fortec Motorsports driver making a move to take the final spot on the podium on the final lap, with the RP Motorsport finishing just ahead of championship rival Rene Binder.

Binder had started the race seventh but a good start had moved him up to fourth, but he found himself shuffled down the pack on the restart before passing both Kanamaru and Tereschenko to reclaim fifth.

Tereschenko survived his clash with Fittipaldi to claim sixth at the chequered flag in the sole Teo Martin Motorsport machine, while Kanamaru, who ran third early on, finished down in seventh for RP Motorsport, just ahead of team-mate Damiano Fioravanti and Fortec Motorsports’ Diego Menchaca, while Giuseppe Cipriani completed the top ten.

Motorland Aragon Race 1 Result

15Egor OrudzhevRUSSMP Racing by AVF41:48.398s
26Matevos IsaakyanRUSSMP Racing by AVF+13.134s
37Alfonso Celis JrMEXFortec Motorsports+19.577s
411Roy NissanyISRRP Motorsport+20.084s
53Rene BinderAUTLotus+20.217s
69Konstantin TereschenkoRUSTeo Martin Motorsport+29.415s
712Yu KanamaruJAPRP Motorsport+37.911s
821Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+38.606s
98Diego MenchacaMEXFortec Motorsports+38.946s
1015Giuseppe CiprianiITABarone Rampante+50.849s
RET4Pietro FittipaldiBRZLotusRetired