Barbosa’s audacious overtake gives Mustang Sampling Six Hours of the Glen Victory

by James Thompson

The #5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac took victory in the Sahlens Six Hours of the Glen after Joao Barbosa pulled off an audacious overtake in the final laps.

Barbosa had trailed the #85 JDC Miller Motorsports ORECA of Stephen Simpson after the South African jumped the Cadillac on the final restart.

However, with just 10 minutes of the race remaining, the ORECA was bulked by a slower GTD car on the front straight and Barbosa saw his chance.

He went around the outside of the first corner and pulled ahead when Simpson was bulked by the GTD Stevenson Audi at turn three.

Barbosa’s victory means for the first time this year, the Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac has failed to grace the top step of the podium.

Ricky Taylor bought the #10 car home in sixth three laps down but it could had been a lot worse after drama on the first corner of the first lap.

Taylor ran wide and as he tried to rejoin, he made contact with the #52 PR Matherson Ligier of Olivier Pla and punctured the right front tyre, which resulted in clipping the wall at turn three.

This dropped them six laps down but the team crawled their way back up the leaderboard and continue to hold a comfortable lead in the standings.

The final spot on the podium went to the #55 Mazda of Jonathan Bomarito, gifting Mazda their best endurance race result so far.

The pole sitting #2 Tequila Patron ESM Nissan DPi was leading the early part of the race but was then involved in a collision with the #75 SunEnergy1 Racing GTD Mercedes.

Both cars pitted for repairs with the Nissan finishing 23 laps down on the winner.

In PC the #38 Performance Tech Motorsport kept alive their unbeaten winning streak as they secured victory by two laps from the#20 BAR1 Motorsport car.

BMW took their first win of the season in GTLM as the #25 car of Bill Auberlen and Alexander Sims took victory.

The RLL M6 lead home Richard Westbrook in the #67 Ford GT by four and a half seconds.

Bill Auberlen and Alexander Sims took BMW’s first GTLM win of the year. Credit: Richard Dole/LAT Images

GTLM saw seven of the eight competitors lead the category at one stage and six cars finished on the lead lap.

Championship leaders #3 Corvette of Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen rounded out the podium in third and retained their lead in the championship.

In GTD Acura took their second win of the bounce as Andy Lally withstood intense pressure from the #63 Ferrari of Alessandro Balzan, to win by half a second.

The Turner Motorsports BMW of Jens Klingmann finished third just two seconds further back and two seconds in front of Shane Van Gisbergen in the first of the Weathertech Mercedes AMG GTs.

His team-mate and championship leaders the #33 of Ben Keating and Jeroen Bleekemolen had its worst result of the season and finished tenth a lap down.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More