Endurance RacingIMSA

Porsche dominates GTLM and GTD at Lime Rock

1 Mins read
Porsche Lime Rock

Porsche secured a dominant 1-2 result by taking overall victory at the GT only WeatherTech SportsCar Championship round at Lime Rock.

The new mid-engined Porsche 911 RSR claimed it first victory in the hands of Dirk Werner and Patrick Pilet in the #911 car, leading home the polesitting #912 of Gianmaria Bruni and Laurens Vanthoor by 14.5 seconds in a caution free race.

The victory is Porsche’s first GTLM win since the Circuit of Americas race last September.

To cap off a brilliant day for the legendary marque, Porsche also triumphed in GTD, with Patrick Lindsey and Jorg Bergmeister taking victory for the #73 Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R.

The final step of the GTLM podium went to the #24 RLL BMW of Martin Tomczyk and John Edwards which held off the championship leaders,  #3 Corvette of Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen over the last few laps.

Despite Garcia making contact twice with the rear of the BMW, Tomczyk held on to the position by 0.3 seconds.

Yet the BMW was 25 seconds away from the dominant Porsches.

The final spot on the podium had previously been held by the #67 Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT of Richard Westbrook and Ryan Briscoe, but with just five minutes remaining it was forced to stop for a splash and dash and dropped down to fifth.

Bruni lead from the start but was delayed by an off at turn 1 and a sticking wheel nut in a pitstop.

In GTD the Park Place Porsche was victorious but they had a much tougher fight compared to their GTD counterparts.

Madison Snow in the polesitting Lamborghini Huracan had dominated the opening stint before Patrick Long in the #28 Alegra Motorsports Porsche took control.

The #73 Park Place Porsche of Patrick Lindsey and Jorg Bergmeister took GTD honours. Credit: Jake Galstad LAT Images

After Bergmeister took over from Lindsey, the veteran German charged to the front overtaking both Long and Snow.

However when Bryan Sellers took over from Snow, he set off in pursuit of the Porsche but was unable to make up the deficit, finishing three seconds behind at the finish.

Related posts
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeSportscars

Dries Vanthoor and Charles Weerts emerge as Champions in Barcelona

4 Mins read
Dries Vathoor and Charles Weerts are crowned overall champions of the GT World Challenge Sprint Cup Series with Sky Tempesta and Sainteloc Racing crowned in Pro-Am and Silver Cup respectively.
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeSportscars

Emil Frey Racing take a 1-2 in the opening race of the Sprint Cup Finale

3 Mins read
Albert Costa and Giacomo Altoè took the overall win in race one of the GT World Challenge Europe Sprint Cup finale at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeOtherSportscars

Preview: GT World Challenge Sprint Cup - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

3 Mins read
The GT World Challenge Sprint Cup reaches its climax this weekend at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. the #32 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT leads the way but will face stern competition for their rivals.

Leave a Reply