Massa Quickest In Washed Out Monza Free Practice 3

by Alasdair Lindsay

Felipe Massa was one of only seven drivers to set a lap-time in Free Practice 3 at Monza, going quickest and leading a Williams one-two in the times as heavy rain left the Monza track surface soaking wet.

The final practice session had been indefinitely delayed at the scheduled start time due to torrential rain soaking the circuit. After several track inspections by Bernd Maylander and race director Charlie Whiting in the safety car, the conditions were judged to have cleared up adequately to begin the session 44 minutes behind schedule.

All twenty drivers made exploratory runs on full wets, but only seven stayed out to attempt a representative laptime. Conditions were still treacherous on the pit straight, with both Toro Rossos of Carlos Sainz Jr and Daniil Kvyat skating straight on at the first chicane during timed laps.

Despite being the last cars to brave heading out on track, the Williams pair of Massa and Lance Stroll set the fastest times, with the Brazilian close to a second quicker than Nico Hulkenberg in third.

The last two drivers on track were Kimi Raikkonen and Pascal Wehrlein, and while the former elected to pit instead of crossing the line to set a laptime, the latter suffered an ERS problem aboard his Sauber as the chequered flag dropped to end the shortened session.

2019Felipe MassaBRZWilliams Martini Racing1:40.6604
1718Lance StrollCANWilliams Martini Racing1:40.888+0.228s4
727Nico HulkenbergGERRenault Sport Formula 1 Team1:41.491+0.8314
955Carlos Sainz JrESPScuderia Toro Rosso1:41.515+0.8555
1030Jolyon PalmerGBRRenault Sport Formula 1 Team1:44.369+3.7094
189Marcus EricssonSWESauber F1 Team1:44.701+4.0413
1526Daniil KvyatRUSScuderia Toro Rosso1:45.033+4.3734
63Daniel RicciardoAUSRed Bull RacingNo time1
433Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull RacingNo time1
55Sebastian VettelGERScuderia FerrariNo time3
27Kimi RaikkonenFINScuderia FerrariNo time4
1114Fernando AlonsoESPMcLaren Honda Formula 1 TeamNo time2
142Stoffel VandoorneBELMcLaren Honda Formula 1 TeamNo time4
138Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas F1 TeamNo time1
1620Kevin MagnussenDENHaas F1 TeamNo time1
831Esteban OconFRASahara Force India F1 TeamNo time2
1994Pascal WehrleinGERSauber F1 TeamNo time1
377Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One TeamNo time1
1211Sergio PerezMEXSahara Force India F1 TeamNo time1
144Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One TeamNo time1

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More