Formula V8 3.5

Binder and Lotus on top in Bahrain Collective Tests

1 Mins read
Credit: Sebastiaan Rozendaal / Dutch Photo Agency

Rene Binder was quickest overall during the Collective Test sessions at the Bahrain International Circuit as the final round of the World Series Formula V8 3.5 season got underway on Thursday.

The Lotus driver, one of five drivers racing this weekend still in with a chance of the championship, set the pace in the night session in Bahrain with a best lap of 1:44.153s, more than half a second ahead of Fortec MotorsportsDiego Menchaca.

Alfonso Celis Jr. followed his Fortec team-mate in third, a further 0.259 seconds back, while Matevos Isaakyan, currently second in the championship standings, ten points behind Pietro Fittipaldi, was fourth.

Konstantin Tereschenko, racing this weekend for SMP Racing by AVF in place of the ill Egor Orudzhev after Teo Martin Motorsport decided not to race in Bahrain, was fifth ahead of debutant Henrique Chaves of AVF, while Lotus’ Fittipaldi trailed down in eighth behind RP Motorsport’s Roy Nissany, with Yu Kanamaru and Tatiana Calderon completing the field.

The earlier session saw Menchaca on top with a 1:45.246s, 0.315 seconds ahead of Fittipaldi, with Tereschenko up in third ahead of Binder and Isaakyan.

Just ten cars are racing this weekend, with Teo Martin Motorsport and Il Barone Rampante not making the trip, but Isaakyan, Celis Jr., Binder and Nissany are all in with a chance of the title this weekend, although Fittipaldi can clinch the title in race one should other result go his way.

Bahrain International Circuit Collective Test 1 Result

[table id=2701 /]

Bahrain International Circuit Collective Test 2 Result

[table id=2702 /]

Related posts
Formula V8 3.5

Season Review: 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 – Fittipaldi Takes Final Crown

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2017 World Series Formula V8 3.5 season, the final year of the category.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5

Fittipaldi Remains Focused on Reaching F1 after Formula V8 3.5 Triumph

1 Mins read
Pietro Fittipaldi wants to become the next Brazilian Formula 1 driver after taking the final World Series Formula V8 3.5 title last weekend in Bahrain.
Formula 1Formula V8 3.5Opinion

OPINION: Formula V8 3.5 - The necessary casualty of the FIA's superlicense overhaul

5 Mins read
The FIA’s superlicense changes set in motion a fatal chain of events for 3.5 series racing. However. was it a sacrifice worth making?

Leave a Reply