Junior WRC

First Entries Announced For 2018 FIA Junior WRC

1 Mins read
Photo Credit: M-Sport

M-Sport have announced that eight drivers have so far been confirmed to be entered in the 2018 FIA Junior World Rally Championship.

Driving identical Ford Fiesta Ecoboost machinery, competitors in the 2018 championship will battle over five rounds with the winner of the series receiving a brand-new specification Fiesta R5, 200 Pirelli tyres as well as fuel and the entry fee being paid for the 2019 FIA WRC2 championship.

Entries for the junior series so far have come from countries including Chile, Ireland, Latvia, New Zealand, Sweden, Ireland and the UK, with the UK entry being 2017 Junior British Rally champion Callum Devine, who confirmed his move to the world championship on Twitter.

FIA Junior WRC Manager Maciej Woda said on the so far confirmed entries: “The 2018 FIA Junior World Rally Championship has proven to have a truly global appeal with competitors from three continents and seven different countries already confirmed.”

“With its mix of snow, asphalt and gravel, this series provides the perfect platform for young drivers to showcase their skills – all competing in identical Ford Fiesta R2s on rallying’s most famous stage.

The 2018 Junior WRC will take place over five events beginning with Rally Sweden between February 15-18 and entries for the 2018 championship are still open until January 16.

Related posts
Junior WRC

Pajari Tests With Latvala Ahead of JWRC Finale

1 Mins read
Sami Pajari – one of the candidates to claim the Junior WRC title at Monza in two weeks time – has been spotted testing at Pesämäki in Finland with former WRC driver Jari-Matti Latvala.
Junior WRC

Junior WRC to End 2020 Season at Monza

1 Mins read
The 2020 FIA Junior World Rally Championship will conclude at Rally Monza in December due to the Ypres Rally being cancelled.
FIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCWRC2WRC3

PREVIEW: 2020 FIA World Rally Championship – Rally Italia Sardegna: Does Evans Have One Hand on The Title?

4 Mins read
Elfyn Evans has a 18-point advantage over Sebastien Ogier as the FIA World Rally Championship continues in Italy this weekend.

Leave a Reply