Alonso Takes WEC Pole after Sister Toyota is Disqualified

1 Mins read
The #8 Toyota team have been promoted to pole position after the #7 has been disqualified.
Credit: World Endurance Championship

After post session scrutineering, the pole sitting #7 Toyota Gazoo Racing has been disqualified, promoting Fernando Alonso, Kazuki Nakajima and Sebastien Buemi‘s #8 Toyota to the first slot on the grid.

Mike Conway and Kamui Kobayashi took pole position during a dramatic qualifying session this afternoon, with a 0.379 second advantage on Alonso and Nakajima who set the time for the sister car. Alonso had been the slowest of the Toyota drivers with a 1:55.143, but both of the #8 drivers were down on the times set by the respective drivers in the #7.

Due to an “incorrect declaration of Fuel Flow Meter” the #7 has been stripped of it’s pole position. This promotes the second Toyota to take the first pole and the first points of the 2018-19 FIA World Endurance Championship.

The Rebellion Racing #1, driven by Bruno Senna, Neel Jani and Andre Lotterer will now share the front row with the remaining Toyota.

The #7 Toyota will start from the pit lane a lap down on the field.

Related posts

Glickenhaus to Skip Opening Round of WEC

1 Mins read
Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus has officially withdrawn its entries from the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, leaving just three cars in the top class of the race.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

ByKolles Names Test and Development Drivers for Hypercar Project

2 Mins read
Tom Dillmann and Esteban Guerrieri have been announced as ByKolles Racing’s test and development drivers for their Le Mans Hypercar project.
24 Hours of Le MansAsian Le Mans SeriesEuropean Le Mans SeriesFIA WEC

LMP2 Suffers More Performance Cuts to Keep Hypercars Ahead

1 Mins read
More changes have been made to the LMP2 cars to ensure the Hypercars are faster ahead of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Leave a Reply