BMW Takes A Stunning 1-2 Victory At 2018 24 Hours of Spa

by Jean-Paul Hackett
#34 Walkenhorst Motorsport DEU BMW M6 GT3 - Tom Blomqvist GBR Christian Krognes NOR Philipp Eng AUT, Race SRO-Kevin Pecks

The #34 Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M6 GT3 scored a memorable victory in the 70th edition Total 24 Hours of Spa thanks to a superb team effort from the German squad and its driver trio of Phillip Eng, Tom Blomqvist and Christian Krognes.

The crew was among the front-runners throughout the race, moving into the lead by the nine-hour mark and remaining there into the early hours of Sunday morning. The team proved their ability to manage the most challenging hours of an endurance race, with the car navigating several full-course yellow periods and a red flag during the race.

The BMW M6 GT3 of ROWE Racing provided a strong challenge during the second half of the race, but the Walkenhorst squad remained remarkably cool to secure a famous triumph. The ROWE machine ensured a BMW one-two on the occasion of the Bavarian marque’s record-extending twenty-fourth win at the Belgian endurance class.

The final place on the podium went to the #29 Montaplast by Land-Motorsport Audi R8 LMS, whose young crew of Kelvin van der Linde, Sheldon van der Linde and Jeffrey Schmidt delivered a performance that belied their years.

The #333 Rinaldi Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 clinched the Pro Am category and secured an excellent fifteenth-place overall finish thanks to a superb comeback drive from Alexander Mattschull, Rinat Salikhov, David Perel and Daniel Keilwitz.

In the Silver Cup, the #12 Ombra Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 was dominant at the head of the class for much of the race but had to fend off intense late pressure to secure victory, narrowly beating the #78 Barwell Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3.

While the British squad could not quite secure Silver honours, they nevertheless took home a set of Total 24 Hours of Spa winners’ trophies thanks to their #77 Lamborghini Huracan GT3’s dominant Am Cup performance.

The crew of Leo Machitski, Richard Abra, Adrian Amstutz and Patrick Kujala finished five laps clear of their nearest Am Cup rival, the #9 Target Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3, to seal victory in style.

In Groupe National, the Speed Lover Porsche 991 Cup triumphed after the long-time leader, GDL Racing’s Lamborghini Super Trofeo, crashed out of the race.

Full race report, including driver quotes to follow.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More