Michelin Clio Cup Series

Top Ten For Unbeaten Palmer With Snetterton Double

2 Mins read
Ben Palmer - 2018 Michelin Clio Cup Series - Credit: Richard Styles Photography
Credit: Richard Styles Photography

Ben Palmer is on the cusp of successfully defending his Michelin Clio Cup Series title after making it ten wins in ten races so far this season with a double victory at Snetterton.

Palmer led the way during a shortened qualifying session, with a best effort of 2m 10.843s securing him a double pole position ahead of Ronan Pearson and Tyler Lidsey.

A strong start to race one for the championship leader saw him build a lead of over half a second on the opening lap alone, though a safety car period quickly slashed that.

There was no change at the restart though as Palmer edged clear to a 1.3 second victory over Pearson, who ran second throughout to continue his impressive campaign.

Behind, John Hamilton ran fourth early on before an off that caused the safety car period, which left a three way battle for third between Lidsey, Ben Colburn and Simon Freeman.

After changing positions throughout the race, it was Colburn who emerged with the podium a week on from his UK Clio Cup debut a week prior, with Freeman fourth.

Lidsey suffered a late retirement meanwhile, with Finlay Robinson rising to fifth ahead of impressive series debutant Paul Bell, with Sean Thomas next up after a weekend away.

Race two started in similar fashion as Palmer led the field away, with Lidsey running second until an off at Murray’s dropped him to fourth behind Pearson and Colburn.

That action gave Palmer an immediate three second advantage and he would control the race from there on his way to victory number ten, with Pearson and Colburn not far behind.

Freeman passed Lidsey for fourth in the first half of the race and held the spot to the finish, with Robinson completing the top six behind ahead of Thomas and Bell. 

In the Road Series, Nic Harrison is on the cusp of successfully defending his title after a double win extended his own 100% winning streak for the season so far.

On pole position by over a second, Harrison would storm to an eight second success in the first race and enjoy a bigger victory in race two around the 300 circuit.

Tom Oatley was the best of the rest with a pair of second place finishes, with James Joannou completing the rostrum on both occasions, while series debutant Richard Guy completed the entry.

The 2018 Michelin Clio Cup Series now has five races to go, with a triple header at Anglesey (1/2 September) ahead of the season finale at Silverstone International (6/7 October).

Palmer heads to Anglesey with a 50 point advantage over Pearson in the standings, with eighty points still to play for, while Harrison needs just a three point swing in his favour to take the title there.

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.