Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andlauer doubles up as Ammermüller takes second title

3 Mins read
Credit: Porsche AG / Hoch Zwei

Fresh from his maiden victory in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup in the first race at Mexico City, Porsche Junior Julien Andlauer took his martinet by ALMERAS Porsche to victory lane again as he secured an impressive double victory to end the 2018 season.

While Andlauer took the victory, reigning champion Michael Ammermüller came home third to secure back-to-back titles as he joined the ranks of Patrick Huisman, Richard Westbrook, Jeroen Bleekemolen, and René Rast in securing multiple Supercup titles.

Ammermüller lined up on pole position for the race but as in the first race of the weekend lost out to Andlauer on the sprint down to the first corner as he made a lightning start from second place on the grid, extending his lead over the course of the race to take an untroubled victory.

“It’s fantastic to conclude the season with a double victory. Fourth overall in my debut Supercup season is a great result.” said Andlauer, who had more reason to celebrate aside from his own achievements.

“On top of this, the Proton Competition team, for whom I contest the WEC, took home the title in the European Le Mans Series. Congratulations to my long-distance squad in Portimao. This weekend was simply perfect,” added the Frenchman.

Ammermüller tried his best to hold on to second place throughout the race but was troubled by championship rivals Nick Yelloly and Thomas Preining. On the third lap Yelloly made his move as he slipstreamed the German on the start-finish straight, moving up in to second place.

Three laps later is was Preining’s turn to move up the order as he passed his team-mate for third place. The Austrian would push on to pass Yelloly four laps later, but was later handed a three-second penalty due to gaining an advantage from leaving the track, dropping him down to fourth place in the results.

Yelloly was happy for another podium finish, but disappointed not to have been able to secure the title, “On the one hand I’m pleased with my podium result, but obviously I would’ve liked to take home the title. But Michael Ammermüller drove such a clever race that I had no real chance. I congratulate him,” said Yelloly.

Credit: Porsche AG / Hoch Zwei

With third place good enough to wrap up the title, Ammermüller was overjoyed after the race. “Even if it looked easy today, I was tense to the last lap.” said the German. “I still can’t believe I’ve won the title for the second time straight. The most important thing is to earn as many points as possible at every race. And that’s what I did at both races this weekend.”

While Preining was disappointed to be demoted down the finishing order and ending the year in third place in the championship, the young driver was proud of what he has achieved this season, “Had I not received the time penalty I could have done better, but I have to live with fourth place. Still, I fought to the end for the championship. It was a thrilling season for me,”

Larry ten Voorde continued to show his pace as he finished as the best rookie in the race, taking fifth place ahead of Zaid Ashkanani.

While ten Voorde took the rookie honours in the race, Florian Latorre took the rookie championship title, finishing the race in seventh place; Mattia Drudi, Dylan Pereira, and Mikkel O. Pedersen rounded out the top ten.

Credit: Porsche AG / Hoch Zwei

Nicolas Misslin led home the Pro-Am class ahead of Mark Radcliffe and Roar Lindland, who had done enough to take the Pro-Am championship title.

Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup – Mexico City – Race 10 of 10 Top 10 Result

  1. Julien Andlauer (F/martinet by ALMERAS)
  2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech)
  3. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
  4. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
  5. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Project 1)
  6. Zaid Ashkanani (KWT/MRS GT-Racing)
  7. Florian Latorre (F/martinet by ALMERAS)
  8. Mattia Drudi (I/Dinamic Motorsport)
  9. Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)
  10. Mikkel O. Pedersen (DK/MRS GT-Racing)

Drivers’ Championship classification after 10 of 10 races

  1. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 153 points
  2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech), 146 points
  3. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 135 points
Related posts
Porsche Carrera Cup GBPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Carrera Cup GB champions King and Webster set to take on Porsche Supercup

2 Mins read
2020 and 2014 Porsche Carrera Cup GB Champions Harry King and Josh Webster join the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup grid with the newly formed Parker Revs Motorsport team.
Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Porsche Junior Güven teams up with Supercup Champions Lechner Racing

1 Mins read
Race winner and Porsche Junior Ayhancan Güven joins champions BWT Lechner Racing as he aims for the Porsche Supercup championship.
Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Misslin heads back to Porsche Supercup with Lechner Racing

1 Mins read
Reigning Porsche Carrera Cup France Pro-Am champion aiming for the Porsche Supercup title with Lechner Racing.

Leave a Reply