Bagnaia clinches world championship in Sepang, Marini takes first win

by Alice Cipolat
Francesco Bagnaia Sepang 2018

Francesco Bagnaia has been crowned the 2018 Moto2 world champion in Malaysia, finishing 3rd at the Sepang International Circuit. His Sky VR46 teammate Luca Marini won his first Moto2 race after leading from the start, with championship challenger Miguel Oliveira finishing 2nd.

Despite Alex Marquez starting from pole, it was Marini that led the field after the first corner. Marquez ended up down in 8th place after he had to take avoiding action due to an optimistic lunge from Fabio Quartararo.

Bagnaia was in 2nd at the beginning of the race, soon caught by Oliveira. They were battling for 2nd place for some laps, which allowed Marini to pull a gap almost immediately. Oliveira was eventually able to maintain the 2nd place and close the gap to Marini, however was unable to pass him to keep his championship hopes alive.

Remy Gardner showed very good pace in the first few laps, momentarily passing Oliveira for 3rd and sitting in 4th for a number of laps. Eventually, he was passed by Marquez and crashed out of what would’ve been a strong points finish.

Marquez finally finished down in 7th, despite having the best pace all weekend and starting from pole. His race pace simply wasn’t up to that of the leading 4, and Lorenzo Baldassarri and Quartararo both passed him in the final laps.

2018 Moto2 Shell Malaysia Grand Prix – Race Result:

110. Luca MariniKalexSky Racing Team VR4638:25.689
244. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+1.194
342. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR46+3.020
454. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+4.497
520. Fabio QuartararoSpeed Up+Ego - Speed Up Racing+5.250
67. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexPons HP40+5.305
773. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS+7.690
841. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+8.943
923. Marcel SchrotterKalexDynavolt Intact GP+9.687
1036. Joan MirKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS+18.547
1197. Xavi ViergeKalexDynavolt Intact GP+18.816
125. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+19.739
139. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+21.177
1477. Dominique AegerterKTMKiefer Racing+21.960
1522. Sam LowesKTMSwiss Innovative Investors+26.875
1624. Simone CorsiKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+28.515
1789. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+28.802
1816. Joe RobertsNTSNTS RW Racing GP+29.791
192. Jesko RaffinKalexSAG Team+30.557
2057. Edgar PonsSpeed UpMB Conveyors – Speed Up+31.069
214. Steven OdendaalNTSNTS RW Racing GP+38.430
2295. Jules DaniloKalexNashi Argan SAG Team+42.930
2330. Dimas Ekky PratamaTech 3Tech 3 Racing+57.507
2432. Isaac VinalesSuterForward Racing Team+57.910
2521. Federico FuligniKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+1:03.737
2650. Rafid Topan SuciptoSuterForward Racing Team+2:04.66
NC40. Augusto FernandezKalexPons HP40+10 Laps
NC66. Niki TuuliKalexSIC Racing Team+11 Laps
NC45. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+11 Laps
NC87. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing+13 Laps
NC18. Xavi CardelusKalexMarinelli Snipers Team+13 Laps
NC27. Iker LecuonaKTMSwiss Innovative Investors+16 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More