Michelin Clio Cup Series

Michelin Clio Cup Series Opens Up To Current Fourth-Gen Clios

1 Mins read
Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

The Michelin Clio Cup Series has introduced a new class for 2019 that will welcome the second-generation RS Clio 182 and fourth-generation RS Clio 220 models for the first time.

The championship was introduced in 2013 to cater for the third-generation RS Clio 200 models after they were replaced in the BTCC-supporting Renault UK Clio Cup.

After six seasons with those cars forming the headline class alongside the Road Series for race-converted Clio 200 cars, the series has created a new class.

The ‘Sports Series’ class will allow the use of Renault Sport-built race cars or modified road-based Clio 192, 197, 200 or 220 models with a maximum of 220bhp.

The Race Series for third-generation RS Clio 200s will remain the headline class, with the fourth-generation RS Clio 220s joining them in 2020.

“I’m absolutely delighted to be able to announce the introduction of a brand-new Sport Series to the Michelin Clio Cup Series in 2019,” commented Championship Promoter Richard Colburn.

“The aim of the new class is to give the many fans of the car a more open series where modified road cars can race against factory-built race cars.

“We really want to become and celebrate the Clio ‘family’, and the new class adds another dimension to what is already among the most cost-effective categories on the club racing ladder.

“All cars will be limited to an output of 220 bhp to avoid expensive race engines, but gearbox, suspension and brakes modifications will be largely free.

“This will allow both track day competitors and those currently competing in other championships to join the Clio Family without extensive modifications.”

Related posts
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Pinder Set For Clio Cup Series Return With Jade Developments

1 Mins read
Former Michelin Clio Cup Series Road Class champion Luke Pinder will return to the championship this season with Jade Developments.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Westbourne Confirm Verhulst and Geeraerts For Clio Cup Series

1 Mins read
Tony Verhulst and Darren Geeraerts will race in the 2019 Michelin Clio Cup Series with Westbourne Motorsport.
Michelin Clio Cup Series

Hamilton Leads Trio Of Clio Cup Series Returnees

1 Mins read
Three more drivers have been confirmed to be returning to the Michelin Clio Cup Series grid this year.

Leave a Reply