Twenty-Two races Scheduled for Formula 1’s biggest calendar in 2020

by Ed Spencer

Subject to FIA approval, Formula 1 will have twenty-two races on the 2020 calendar, with the sport returning to the Netherlands after a thirty-five year absence and Vietnam hosting it’s first Grand Prix.

The season will commence with a double-header, with the usual trip to Australia on 15 March before Formula 1 heads to Bahrain a week later on the 22 March. Vietnam will then make it’s debut on the 5 April before the Chinese Grand Prix on 19 April.

The European leg of the season will commence on the 3 May in the Netherlands at the Zandvoort, before the series goes to the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya a week later after the Spanish Grand Prix was saved at the eleventh hour by the Catalan government. The Monaco Grand Prix is on the 24 May, before the series returns after a week off in Azerbaijan on the 7 June.

Just seven days after Azerbaijan, Formula 1 will head for the first of three North American flyaways for the Canadian Grand Prix on the 14 June, with the event clashing with the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the first time since 2016. A return to Europe follows two weeks later for the French Grand Prix on the 28 June, to be held at Le Castellet.

The Austrian Grand Prix will appear on the 5 July before Formula 1 goes to Silverstone, a week later than it was in 2019, taking place on the 19 July. With the German Grand Prix absent from the calendar, Formula 1 will now only have one further race before the enforced summer shutdown, with the Hungarian Grand Prix on the 2 August.

After tthe summer break, Spa-Francorchamps will host the Belgian Grand Prix on 30 August, before the Autodromo Nazionale Monza ends the European season on the 6 September, providing a new contract is signed by the circuit officials.

Formula 1 hits Asia again on the 20 September for the Singapore Grand Prix, while a week later comes the Russian Grand Prix at Sochi Autodrom. The Japanese Grand Prix at the Suzuka International Racing Course then follows on the 11 October, two weeks later.

The final four rounds include the North American double header of the United States and Mexican Grand Prix‘s held on the weekends of the 25 October and the 1 November before Formula 1 jets off to the only South American race on the calendar on November 15, with the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos.

The 2020 season ends on 29 November with the now traditional visit to the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More