Formula 1

Valtteri Bottas takes pole at 70th Anniversary Grand Prix

2 Mins read
Credit: LAT Images

Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team have now claimed nine poles in row at Silverstone after a fine drive from Valtteri Bottas to snatch pole away from team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

Q3 – Mercedes dominate, again

After a strong weekend from the silver arrows, it was a given that the Mercedes duo would lockout front row with Hamilton starting second.

After an unfortunate weekend last week for stand in BWT Racing Point Formula One Team driver Nico Hülkenberg, the German will start tomorrow in third place, something he was elated about when crossing the line.

Joining Hülkenberg on the second row is Max Verstappen. Verstappen originally started Q3 on medium tyres and only gave him enough to provisionally get sixth/seventh. He changed to softs to change himself to fourth.

A driver that had impressed all weekend was Daniel Ricciardo. The Aussie claimed third in free practice 2 and was looking like claiming third in qualifying too which would have been Renault DP World F1 Team’s best qualifying position in ten years, however he was beaten in the end and will start fifth.

Lance Stroll will also be on the third row in sixth position.

Seventh place belongs to Pierre Gasly who has gone from strength to strength in the Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda. Gasly also outqualified his Red Bull replacement Alexander Albon who is still struggling to get the pace to match that of team-mate Max Verstappen. Albon will be starting ninth

Charles Leclerc in eighth and Lando Norris in tenth finishes off Q3.

Q2 – Where some of the giants fell

Esteban Ocon couldn’t quite make it to the final shootout and was starting eleventh. However, an incident involving George Russell and Esteban Ocon was investigated after the qualifying session. Ocon stayed in the racing line when he wasn’t on a flying lap, obstructing Russells attempt at a lap. The stewards decided that Ocon will have a three-place grid penalty on Sunday, demoting him to fourteenth.

Sebastian Vettel failed to make it through to Q3, his worst starting point this season at twelfth, now promoted to eleventh through Ocon’s demotion. This adds to the struggles of Ferrari veteran and things just seem to be going from bad to worse for the F1 legend.

Another surprise omission from Q2 was Carlos Sainz Jr. After making Q3 every qualifying session this year, the best he could do was thirteenth but now up to twelfth due to Ocon’s penalty.

Romain Grosjean will start thirteenth and George Russell fifteenth.

George Russell made it to Q2 for a fourth consecutive qualifying and was only a second off Valtteri Bottas in first in Q1. 

Q1 – Alfa’s gone

Daniil Kyvat missed out on Q2 due to his last lap time being deleted after his car excedded track limits. This mean’t he will place sixteenth on Sunday

Alfa Romeo still haven’t got a car out of Q1 this season. Kimi Räikkönen and Antonio Giovinazzi will start twentieth and nineteenth respectivelty.

Also out at Q1 was Nicholas Latifi, who has yet to get out of Q1 this year, at eighteenth and Kevin Magnussen at seventeenth. 

177Valtteri BottasFINMercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team1:26.7381:25.7851:25.15420
244Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team1:26.8181:26.2661:25.21720
327Nico HülkenbergGERBWT Racing Point Formula One Team1:27.2791:26.2611:26.08218
433Max VerstappenNEDAston Martin Red Bull Racing1:27.1541:26.7791:26.17612
53Daniel RicciardoAUSRenault DP World F1 Team1:27.4421:26.6361:26.29714
618Lance StrollCANBWT Racing Point Formula One Team1:27.1871:26.6741:26.42818
710Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda1:27.1541:26.5231:26.53418
816Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari1:27.4271:26.7091:26.61416
923Alexander AlbonTHAAston Martin Red Bull Racing1:27.1531:26.6421:26.66918
104Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1:27.2171:26.8851:26.77818
1131Esteban OconFRARenault DP World F1 Team1:27.2781:27.01112
125Sebastian VettelGERScuderia Ferrari1:27.6121:27.07814
1355Carlos Sainz Jr.ESPMcLaren F1 Team1:27.4501:27.08312
148Romain GrosjeanFRAHaas F1 Team1:27.5191:27.25416
1563George RussellGBRWilliams Racing1:27.7571:27.45511
1626Daniil KvyatRUSScuderia AlphaTauri Honda1:27.8826
1720Kevin MagnussenDENHaas F1 Team1:28.2369
186Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1:28.4306
1999Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing1:28.4336
207Kimi RäikkönenFINAlfa Romeo Racing1:28.4936
Related posts
Formula 1Season Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2020 Formula 1 World Championship - McLaren F1 Team

3 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2020 Formula 1 season of the McLaren F1 Team.
Extreme EFormula 1

Jenson Button To Join Extreme E As An Owner And Driver

2 Mins read
Jenson Button has announced he will be driving for his own team in the inaugural season of the all-electric off-road series Extreme E.
Formula 1Season Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2020 Formula 1 World Championship - Aston Martin Red Bull Racing

3 Mins read
Aston Martin Red Bull Racing continued to be a serious contender in the FIA Formula 1 World Championship.

Leave a Reply