NASCAR Xfinity Series

Justin Haley leads Kaulig 3-wide finish in Wawa 250

3 Mins read
Credit: Kaulig Racing

It was like a formation finish at Le Mans. Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Daytona International Speedway was dominated by the Kaulig Racing trio of A.J. AllmendingerJeb Burton, and Justin Haley as they swept the top three spots in each of the first two stages. On the final lap, the trio ran side-by-side and Haley edged out his partners in a three-wide finish to win his fourth superspeedway event and first of the year.

Coming off his third win of the season, Allmendinger started on the pole and traded the lead with Noah Gragson for nineteen laps before rain hit. Unable to resume, NASCAR pushed the race to Saturday hours before the Cup Series event. Allmendinger continued to lead on the restart with nine laps before the end of the stage as Haley and Burton followed. Five laps after the green, Austin Cindric was clipped by Myatt Snider and hit the outside wall on the frontstretch, and the ensuing ricochet forced Snider to check down and send Michael Annett and Sam Mayer spinning through the infield; Daniel Hemric also suffered damage in the accident as the stage ended under yellow. Haley took the lead before the crash and thus won the segment ahead of Allmendinger, Burton, Christopher BellJustin AllgaierBrett Moffitt, Gragson, Caesar BacarellaBrandon Brown, and Harrison Burton.

Riley Herbst and Brown opened Stage #2 in the lead, though debris from Annett’s car resulted in a caution after three laps. Herbert continued to hold the top position ahead of *de facto* Stewart-Haas Racing team-mate Chase Briscoe on the restart. Brown passed him with Allmendinger in tow on lap 44, though he went to the outside and surrendered the spot a lap later. Bacarella’s car lost a left rear body part on lap 48 to warrant another debris yellow. Brown fell back after running out of fuel, while Kaulig once again finished 1–2–3 in the stage as Burton led Allmendinger, Haley, Herbst, Bell, Gragson, Hemric, Allgaier, Briscoe, and Mayer.

The final stage commenced with Bell and Gragson battling for the lead, and the latter would clear him on lap 66 as the field organised into single file. Colin Garrett spun off turn four on lap 71 and became beached in the wet infield grass for the next caution. Another Gragson/Bell front row paced the field to the restart with 23 laps left, and a good push allowed Bell to hold the lead. On lap 82, Bacarella was clipped on the backstretch by Jordan Anderson and hit the outside wall with Matt Mills and Jade Buford also going around. Joe Gibbs Racing team-mates Bell and Harrison Burton led another restart with 14 to go and the former won out.

The race ran single file until Allmendinger and the Kaulig camp surged to the front with three laps remaining. Burton and Haley caught their ally and sandwiched him with drafting help from Bell and Hemric, respectively, while Allgaier pushed Allmendinger. Riding the high line, Haley beat Allmendinger and Burton to the line by .023 of a second.

Race results

1911Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet100Running
2116A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet100Running
347Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
41310Jeb BurtonKaulig RacingChevrolet100Running
52118Daniel HemricJoe Gibbs RacingToyota100Running
61554Christopher Bell*Joe Gibbs RacingToyota100Running
729Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
8232Myatt SniderRichard Childress RacingChevrolet100Running
9520Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota100Running
10698Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord100Running
11702Brett MoffittOur MotorportsChevrolet100Running
12228Sam MayerJR MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
133417J.J. YeleySS-Green Light RacingChevrolet100Running
143261David StarrMBM MotorsportsToyota100Running
153566Jason WhiteMBM MotorsportsFord100Running
161139Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord100Running
171792Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevrolet100Running
181244Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
193799Chase Briscoe*B.J. McLeod MotorsportsFord100Running
20270Jeffrey EarnhardtJD MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
21264Landon CassillJD MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
221831Jordan Anderson*Jordan Anderson RacingChevrolet100Running
232923Blaine PerkinsOur MotorportsChevrolet100Running
24851Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet100Running
253078Mason MasseyB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota100Running
263315Colby HowardJD MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
27246Ryan VargasJD MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
281048Jade BufordBig Machine RacingChevrolet100Running
294074Tim Viens*Mike Harmon RacingChevrolet100Running
30191Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevrolet100Running
312536Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet100Running
322847Kyle WeathermanMike Harmon RacingChevrolet98Running
33165Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota98Running
343168Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet97Running
353907Joe Graf Jr.SS-Green Light RacingChevrolet88Accident
363690Caesar BacarellaDGM RacingChevrolet82Accident
372026Colin GarrettSam Hunt RacingToyota71Accident
383852Spencer Boyd*Jimmy Means RacingChevrolet71Engine
391422Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord27Accident
40319Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota17Engine
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
1157 posts

About author
History major at San Jose State University and lifelong motorsports fan who covers NASCAR and the Stadium Super Trucks.
Related posts
NASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity Series

Sage Karam returning to Anderson for 2 Xfinity races, Truck debut

1 Mins read
Sage Karam will run the NASCAR Xfinity races at Bristol and Charlotte Roval, as well as make his NASCAR Truck début at Martinsville, for Jordan Anderson Racing.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Colby Howard departs JD Motorsports after Truck announcement, Bayley Currey in for Richmond

1 Mins read
A day after announcing he will drive in the NASCAR Trucks for McAnally-Hilgemann Racing in 2022, Colby Howard has lost his Xfinity ride with JD Motorsports. Bayley Currey will fill his seat for Richmond.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Illness knocks Brett Moffitt out for Xfinity Richmond, Ty Dillon filling in

2 Mins read
Due to an illness he suffered on the way to last week’s NASCAR Xfinity race at Darlington, Brett Moffitt will have to skip this weekend’s event at Richmond. Ty Dillon, who replaced him in the Our Motorsports #02 at Darlington, will return for Richmond.