NASCAR Truck Series

Sheldon Creed dominates Truck playoff opener, wins Toyota 200

4 Mins read
Credit: Jeff Curry/Getty Images

The 2021 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series playoffs kicked off Friday night with the Toyota 200, but even the brighter lights couldn’t provide enough illumination for World Wide Technology Raceway as a power outage resulted in a lengthy delay early into the second stage. By the end, Sheldon Creed shone the brightest as he led 142 of 160 laps and swept the stages to win for the second straight year at Gateway.

Austin Hill and regular season champion John Hunter Nemechek started on the front row, but the latter quickly fell off the pace while Creed took the lead after three laps. Creed led until Chandler Smith‘s truck suffered a rear hub failure on lap 30 to warrant a caution, and continued to hold the spot as the race resumed. Cory Roper and Derek Griffith also brought out yellow flags with their wrecks during the stage. Creed and GMS Racing team-mate Zane Smith battled for the lead throughout the opening segment, with the former winning out. Stewart Friesen, Ben Rhodes, Smith, Ty Majeski, Todd Gilliland, Matt Crafton, Hill, Nemechek, and Derek Kraus rounded out the top ten. All but Kraus was a playoff driver, with Smith and Carson Hocevar being the lone such persons to not receive stage points.

Stage #2 lasted just two laps before the lights were knocked out by a fire in nearby Fairmont City that damaged a transformer. The ensuing red flag marked the first delay for a power outage in the series since the 2014 Phoenix event, while Daytona 500 qualifying in February was also briefly delayed for the same reason. After nearly an hour of waiting, the backup generators were prepared and re-lit the circuit; track manager Chris Blair added one of the backups was also blown out by a power surge, though “there was a backup to the backup that has been hooked up.”

The race finally resumed with Creed and Smith leading the field to the restart on lap 67. As Creed pulled away, brake gremlins plagued his GMS ally until they forced Smith to the garage with six laps remaining in the stage. Creed took the stage win ahead of Rhodes, Crafton, Nemechek, Friesen, Majeski, Kraus, Tyler Ankrum, Christian Eckes, and Hill. Majeski, Ankrum, and Eckes were non-playoff drivers.

The final stage commenced with Creed and Rhodes leading. In a case of major playoff implications on lap 112, Nemechek’s truck stopped on the frontstretch and triggered a ten-person wreck as drivers attempted to avoid him, collecting Ankrum, Enfinger, Hill, Hocevar, Gilliland, Majeski, Rhodes, and Grant Enfinger; Gilliland attempted to return but cut a tyre and could not meet minimum speed, ending his night after 120 laps. Enfinger’s hood popped up on the ensuing restart, causing him to slow on the backstretch but he was able to pit without producing a caution. Nemechek’s woes continued when his left-front tyre went down on lap 129 and forced a trip behind the pit wall to address the broken brake rotor before returning five laps down.

When it appeared Creed was going to storm off to the win, Tanner Gray spun into the wall while racing Hocevar with five laps remaining to force overtime. A pair of series champions in Creed and Crafton occupied the front row as the session began. Creed had the run on the outside to clear Crafton exiting turn two. With a contingent of Toyotas stalking him, Creed held them off to win his second race of 2021 and seventh of his career, locking the reigning champion into the next round and prolonging his hopes of a title defence.

Of course, Creed was not going to lose while Stadium Super Trucks points leader Matt Brabham was in attendance. Brabham, a two-time SST champion like Creed, waved the green flag to begin Friday’s event. While it is Creed’s first time winning at a track in back-to-back years in NASCAR, he accomplished the feat seven times in SST, including a three-peat at the Adelaide 500 from 2015 to 2017.

“Sheldon Creed is supposed to win at Gateway when @mattybrabs is in the house,” posted SST on Twitter. “Strong SST representation tonight. These young drivers in NASCAR trucks need to come run some SST races to up their on track game”.

Further back, another driver of off-road truck background in Hailie Deegan enjoyed her first career Truck Series top ten in seventh as she scored the best run for a female CWTS driver outside of Daytona ever, as did Creed’s team-mate Jack Wood in tenth. Armani Williams, Griffith, and Chris Hacker respectively placed twenty-first, twenty-sixth, and twenty-seventh in their series débuts.

Race results

142Sheldon CreedGMS RacingChevrolet163Running
21088Matt CraftonThorSport RacingToyota163Running
3799Ben RhodesThorSport RacingToyota163Running
4952Stewart FriesenHalmar Friesen RacingToyota163Running
52013Johnny SauterThorSport RacingToyota163Running
62823Chase PurdyGMS RacingChevrolet163Running
7191Hailie DeeganDavid Gilliland RacingFord163Running
8642Carson HocevarNiece MotorsportsChevrolet163Running
91522Austin Wayne SelfAM RacingChevrolet163Running
102124Jack WoodGMS RacingChevrolet163Running
112756Tyler HillHill MotorsportsChevrolet163Running
122617Taylor GrayDavid Gilliland RacingFord163Running
131840Ryan TruexNiece MotorsportsChevrolet162Running
142412Tate FoglemanYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet162Running
151425Josh Berry*Rackley WARChevrolet162Running
163220Spencer BoydYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet161Running
173704Cory RoperRoper RacingFord161Running
182202Kris WrightYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet161Running
191615Tanner GrayDavid Gilliland RacingFord161Running
201719Derek KrausMcAnally-Hilgemann RacingToyota160Running
213633Armani WilliamsReaume Brothers RacingToyota159Running
2224John Hunter NemechekKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota158Running
23116Austin HillHattori Racing EnterprisesToyota157Running
243449Roger ReuseCMI MotorsportsFord157Running
25309Grant EnfingerCR7 MotorsportsChevrolet154Running
261151Derek GriffithKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota150Running
273134Chris HackerReaume Brothers RacingToyota140Running
281218Chandler SmithKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota123Running
29338Todd GillilandFront Row MotorsportsFord120DVP
303841Dawson CramCram Racing EnterprisesChevrolet117Accident
31898Christian EckesThorSport RacingToyota113Accident
321326Tyler AnkrumGMS RacingChevrolet112Accident
332566Ty MajeskiThorSport RacingToyota112Accident
342945Jake GriffinNiece MotorsportsChevrolet112Accident
35521Zane SmithGMS RacingChevrolet99Rear Gear
362330Danny BohnOn Point MotorsportsToyota94Engine
37333Jordan AndersonJordan Anderson RacingChevrolet68Engine
383510Jennifer Jo CobbJennifer Jo Cobb RacingFord28Engine
Bold – Currently in playoffs
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Truck points
Avatar photo
3600 posts

About author
Justin is not an off-road racer, but he writes about it for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
NASCAR Truck Series

Spencer Boyd launches Freedom Racing Enterprises

1 Mins read
NASCAR Truck Series regular Spencer Boyd and Freedom Warranty owner Chris Miller have created Freedom Racing Enterprises, which will field the #76 Chevrolet in 2024.
NASCAR Truck Series

Chase Purdy signs with Spire for 2024 Trucks

1 Mins read
With Kyle Busch Motorsports being purchased by Spire Motorsports, Chase Purdy will stick through the transition and drive their #77 truck for the 2024 season.
NASCAR Truck Series

Ty Dillon returning to Truck Series with Rackley WAR in 2024

2 Mins read
After departing Spire Motorsports, Ty Dillon will race full-time in the NASCAR Truck Series for the first time since 2013 when he pilots the #25 for Rackley WAR in 2024.