Stadium SUPER Trucks

Jerett Brooks wins Long Beach Race 1, first since Crandon 2013

2 Mins read
Credit: Stadium Super Trucks

The last time Jerett Brooks won a Stadium Super Trucks race, it was the series’ inaugural season in 2013 at Crandon International Off-Road Raceway. Eight years later, he is back on top of the podium in Race #1 at the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach.

Bill Hynes started on the pole ahead of Bo LeMastus while Fastest Qualifier Robby Gordon was at the rear. Hynes led the opening lap as a contingent of Crosley Brands trucks of CEO LeMastus, Jeff Ward, and SST newcomer Mads Siljehaug tailed.

The top four distanced themselves from the field as Hynes led until the competition caution on lap four. Behind him, Ward won the battle of the Crosleys to hold second while LeMastus found himself swarmed by the rest of the field on lap three. By the competition yellow, Hynes led Ward, Siljehaug, and Brooks.

Hynes pulled away on the restart while a strong jump by Siljehaug propelled him into second. However, Siljehaug’s podium hopes would come to an abrupt end when an erratic landing sent him into the wall, bouncing him off and into the middle of the racing surface. The race remained green despite the wreck.

At the front, Hynes’ lead diminished as Brooks, Ward, and Brabham gave chase. The pack—led by Brooks, Robert Stout, and Brabham—caught Hynes with two laps remaining.

Stout and Brabham’s fight for second gave Brooks enough breathing room to isolate from the two. Brooks would drive off to his second career win, first on pavement, and third podium on a street circuit (he finished second and third in two races at St. Petersburg in 2014).

“I don’t really race these trucks often. I raced them at Mid-Ohio and used up my brakes pretty early on,” Brooks commented in his podium interview. “I tried to be pretty smart and tried to save my brakes for the end of the race.

“I feel like it’s more of a battle trying to get through the field because you qualify 1–2–3 and it’s a whole inversion, so the slow guys are up front and it’s a lot more chaos. This is what makes the show.”

Brabham charged down Stout’s inside in the last hairpin to take away his momentum, followed by beating Stout to the line in a drag race for second.

“Coming to the finish, I just managed to get Robert just a little bit loose and just snuck up and just pushed him enough to get the momentum over the jumps,” said Brabham. “I land on the nose again and the belt came off so everything, all the power steering, went away and I just held it flat to the finish and just missed him.”

Unofficial results

11227Jerett Brooks
21183Matt Brabham
31028Robert Stout
4137Robby Gordon
5777Max Gordon
664Jeff Ward
7157Bill Hynes
889Christian Sourapas
9242Bo LeMastus
10321Zoey Edenholm
1148Brandon Parrish
12596Mads Siljehaug
13940Jacob Abel
Fastest qualifier (1 bonus point): Robby Gordon
1214 posts

About author
History major at San Jose State University and lifelong motorsports fan who covers NASCAR and the Stadium Super Trucks.
Related posts
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Robby Gordon becomes SST Long Beach all-time winner with Race 2 triumph

2 Mins read
By dominating Sunday’s race, Robby Gordon is now a four-time Stadium Super Trucks winner at Long Beach, breaking a tie with Matt Brabham.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Robby Gordon snaps Brabham qualifying streak at Long Beach

2 Mins read
Matt Brabham’s five-round streak of being the fastest in Stadium Super Trucks qualifying has been snapped by Robby Gordon at Long Beach.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Baja Jerky joins Max Gordon for Long Beach, supporting Christian Sourapas in SST debut

2 Mins read
Max Gordon will be sponsored by Baja Jerky for the Stadium Super Trucks’ Long Beach GP, his first main sponsor that isn’t Continental or SPEED. Baja is also backing Christian Sourapas in his SST début.