Nitro Rallycross

American’s take home the win as Subaru Motorsport’s Scott Speed Wins at ERX

1 Mins read
Scott Speed Shoey
Credit: Nitro Rallycross

Scott Speed changed the podium this Sunday with a victory in Minneapolis for Subaru Motorsports. Speed bested his teammate Travis Pastrana and competitor Kevin Hansen to take home a win for the American-based team.

Speed got off to a great start and found himself in a close battle with Pastrana and Hansen in the early laps. He continued to stay in the lead and by lap two was able to slow up Hansen to let Pastrana closer to the battle. This ultimately helped as Pastrana now had to deal with Hansen as Speed took away out front. After a solid joker strategy and a rapidly fast Subaru, Speed and Pastrana were able to take home first and second respectively with Kevin Hansen bringing up the rear. 

This marks Subaru Motorsports’ first-ever event victory in Nitro Rallycross history as well as the first time a Hansen has not been on the top step. The American’s were finally able to get the home field advantage and take the win in the process. 

After this weekend’s victory, Scott Speed is now tied with Timmy Hansen for a total of 87 points on the season. As both drivers are tied in the championship with three rounds to go, each will look to capitalize on every round as they head towards Phoenix in a month’s time. 

Meanwhile, in the NRX NEXT class Sage Karam was able to recover from an epic start to win the race following a puncture for Martin Enlund and George Meginnis. Karam was spun at the start of lap one but fought his way back after 6 laps to take the checkered flag once the carnage had subsided. After a penalty for contact, Megennis was disqualified from the results subsequently moving Enlund and Lane Vacala up to second and third respectively.

The Nitro Rallycross Championship continues with the next round at Wild Horse Motorsports Park in Phoenix, Arizona in a month’s time. Wild Horse joins the calendar as another new track for the season as it has a similar form to ERX in its use for the Lucas Oil Off-Road series. 

11 posts

About author
Hello, I’m Kieran the Nitro Rallycross contributor. I’ve been writing and doing photography for a few years. My favorite motorsport discipline is Rallycross and I’ve been following the sport for 5 years.
Related posts
NASCAR Cup SeriesNitro Rallycross

Chase Elliott running Nitro Rallycross at FIRM

1 Mins read
2020 NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Nitro Rallycross début at the FIRM on 4/5 December. He follows 2015 champ Kyle Busch in being the newest NASCAR/rallycross crossover.
Nitro RallycrossRace of Champions

NRX FC1-X to make debut at 2022 Race of Champions

2 Mins read
The FC1-X, an electric rallycross car designed by Nitro Rallycross, will race for the first time as part of the 2022 Race of Champions in Sweden.
NASCAR Cup SeriesNitro Rallycross

Kyle Busch finishes 4th in rallycross debut at Wild Horse Pass

3 Mins read
NASCAR star Kyle Busch, racing in rallycross for the first time ever, placed fourth in the Nitro Rallycross event at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park.