O’Sullivan takes second Donington double of the season

2 Mins read
Credit: Jakob Ebrey

Zak O’Sullivan took his seventh win of a his crowning season at a soaked Donington Park on Sunday, his second of the weekend in as many meetings at the Leicestershire circuit.

The race started behind the Safety Car due to extreme wet conditions.

The Hitech GP pairing of Reece Ushijima and Bart Horsten locked out the front row, ahead of new champion Zak O’Sullivan and the final Hitech of Sebastian Alvarez.

The race began in earnest on the third lap, as the safety car came in.

Horsten ran wide at the Old Hairpin, allowing O’Sullivan to move up the inside into second place.

He got the lead on the same lap as Ushijima ran wide at Goddards.

Tom Lebbon lost his front wing at the end of the first lap, as he tried to move past Roberto Faria.

O’Sullivan had cleared off by the end of Lap 4, extending his lead to three seconds within a single lap.

Meanwhile, Christian Mansell and Roman Bilinski went wheel-to-wheel down the Craner Curves.

Flynn Jackes and Alex Fores both received ten-second penalties for false starts, dropping them down the field.

Bilinski and Ayrton Simmons battled next, from McLeans to the Esses, Bilinski’s switchback opening the gap for Alvarez to close up.

Alvarez put a wheel on the grass and ran deep, allowing the Arden Motorsport and Chris Dittmann Racing pair to settle their differences unhindered.

Simmons would get past Bilinski and make it stick with one of the moves of the season.

After having a look up the inside at McLeans, he slid around the outside of Bilinski at Coppice, who himself lost grip midway through the corner and slid up the track.

Bryce Aron and Branden Oxley found a way past Roberto Faria in the battle for seventh as the Fortec Motorsport driver dropped to ninth.

Faria lost another position to Alvarez at the Melbourne Hairpin, as Frederick Lubin squeezed Tommy Smith onto the kerbs exiting the Old Hairpin.

Mansell spent the last lap harassing his compatriot Horsten, and forced a mistake at Coppice to take third place.

O’Sullivan took the win by over seven seconds, ahead of Ushijima with Mansell completing the podium.

Mikkel Grundtvig starts Race 3 on pole, ahead of the two Douglas Motorsport cars of Reema Juffali and Tommy Smith.

2021 Donington Park Race 2 Results:

151Zak O’SullivanGBRCarlin11 laps
213Reece UshijimaJPNHitech GP+7.389s
321Christian MansellAUSCarlin+10.655s
450Bart HorstenAUSHitech GP+11.769s
518Ayrton SimmonsGBRChris Dittmann Racing+19.568s
64Roman BilinskiPOLArden Motorsport+21.676s
723Bryce AronUSACarlin+22.562s
868Branden OxleyGBRChris Dittmann Racing+26.124s
912Sebastian AlvarezGBRHitech GP+27.026s
107Roberto FariaBRAFortec Motorsport+30.697s
113Javier SagreraSPAElite Motorsport+34.214s
1267James HedleyGBRElite Motorsport+36.427s
1378Frederick LubinGBRArden Motorsport+40.714s
1443Mikkel GrundtvigDENFortec Motorsport+42.896s
1590Alex ForesGBRChris Dittmann Racing+44.895s
1655Tommy SmithAUSDouglas Motorsport+50.684s
1716Eduardo CosetengFILFortec Motorsport+53.174s
1810Reema JuffaliSAUDouglas Motorsport+1:11.917
1933Flynn JackesAUSHillspeed+1:14.168
2034Tom LebbonGBRElite Motorsport+1:20.651
215Johnathan BrowneROIHillspeedDNF
114 posts

About author
Stickler for track limits, covering the GB3 Championship. Twitter: @MCallanderMedia
Related posts
Formula 1GB3

Juffali named Official Ambassador for Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

1 Mins read
Douglas Motorsport’s GB3 driver Reema Juffali will be an Official Ambassador for the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix this weekend. Formula 1 takes to the Jeddah Corniche Circuit in her home city; the 29-year-old will also get a taste of F1 machinery.

Ginetta GT5 Challenge runner-up Bennett graduates to GB3 with Elite Motorsport

2 Mins read
Elite Motorsport have now announced two-thirds of their 2022 GB3 Championship line-up. John Bennett will move up from Ginetta GT5 Challenge with the team.

BRDC extends ten-year relationship with GB3 to include GB4

2 Mins read
The BRDC has announced it will extend its support to the GB3 Championship into a tenth year, with the partnership now including the new GB4 Championship.