NASCAR Xfinity Series

Noah Gragson wins triple-overtime Talladega tango

3 Mins read
Credit: James Gilbert/Getty Images

One can always count on Talladega Superspeedway to be a site for chaos, and Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series event did little to deter that notion. Despite a fairly incident-scant first two stages, drama broke out with four wrecks in the final twenty laps and three overtimes. A mad scramble ended with Noah Gragson holding off Jeffrey Earnhardt for his second win of the season.

Much of the pre-race buildup centred on Earnhardt, driving a black #3 for Richard Childress Racing with grandfather Dale Sr.‘s former crew chief Larry McReynolds leading him, who won the pole. RCR drivers Austin Hill and Sheldon Creed qualified behind him. Hill, who won the season’s first superspeedway race at Daytona, dominated the affair by leading sixty-seven laps but was eliminated in a late wreck.

Although the lead changed hands multiple times with eight trades in the first stage, it was a relatively clean segment as Ryan Ellis‘ spin was the lone caution. Josh Berry took the lead on the penultimate lap to win the stage ahead of Ty Gibbs, A.J. Allmendinger, Landon Cassill, Hill, Justin Allgaier, Noah Gragson, Anthony Alfredo, Sam Mayer, and Brett Moffitt.

Stage #2 continued being incident-free until a wreck on the backstretch that sent Mason Massey into the inside wall while collecting Berry, Moffitt, Chandler Smith, and J.J. Yeley.

“We had it avoided there for a minute and then the #8 (Berry) started coming back across and just the way that I was angled I was going to either hit him with my left front or I had to get on my brakes and go to the right quick enough and once I did, I just got sideways and couldn’t save it,” said Smith, who was making his Xfinity début. “It sucks.”

The crash caused the stage to end under yellow with Allgaier leading Hill, Brandon Jones, Gibbs, Drew Dollar, Brandon Brown, Earnhardt, Riley Herbst, and Myatt Snider.

Much of the final stage was a battle between Hill and Gibbs for the lead before lap 76 when Gibbs and Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Jones, Ellis, Daniel Hemric, and David Starr wrecked together. With Gibbs out of the picture and retiring for just the second time in his Xfinity career, Hill and Creed led the way as the race resumed. As Hill received a push from Allmendinger along the outside, Creed paced the inside before being shuffled back by Herbst, interestingly meaning said line was led by a pair of drivers with off-road roots.

Matt Mills hit the wall with sixteen laps remaining to produce the fifth race-related caution. Another wreck occurred six circuits later involving Brown, Dollar, Jones, Joe Graf Jr., Kaz Grala, and Ryan Vargas.

Hill and Allgaier led the field to the restart with four laps to go, but the former’s hopes died two corners later when he was clipped by Mayer, who was pushing his JR Motorsports team-mate on the outside but received too strong of a bump from behind by Allmendinger and Creed. Both Hill and Mayer slid into the inside wall, necessitating a caution and overtime.

Overtime began with Allgaier and Allmendinger on the front row as Creed and Jeb Burton respectively pushed. However, Creed was squeezed between two lanes and shuffled back. Now stuck in the pack, Creed’s own race came to an end after being hit by Caesar Bacarella, who was spun by Gray Gaulding, and briefly sent airbourne. The second overtime also failed to make the white flag when Jeremy Clements‘ car stopped on the apron.

A third attempt began with Allgaier dropping out after running out of fuel, leaving Allmendinger to fight with Gragson. The latter cleared his adversary as the leaders organised into single file shortly before beginning the final lap. Earnhardt attempted to lead an outside lane before committing to the inside, enabling him to move up to second but he was unable to catch Gragson as he kept him at bay.

The win is Gragson’s seventh in the Xfinity Series, first at Talladega, and second on a superspeedway (first was at Daytona in 2020). Despite falling short, Earnhardt earned his best NASCAR national series career finish and just his second top five.

Race results

1199Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
213Jeffrey EarnhardtRichard Childress RacingChevrolet124Running
31316A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet124Running
41038Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord124Running
5610Landon CassillKaulig RacingChevrolet124Running
61223Anthony AlfredoOur MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
72098Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord124Running
82407Joe Graf Jr.SS-Green Light RaicngFord124Running
93131Myatt SniderJordan Anderson RacingChevrolet124Running
101802Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
11168Josh BerryJR MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
122136Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet124Running
13918Drew DollarJoe Gibbs RacingToyota124Running
143253Shane LeeEmerling-Gase MotorsportsFord124Running
152227Jeb BurtonOur MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
163635Joey GaseEmerling-Gase MotorsportsFord124Running
17294Bayley CurreyJD MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
183739Kyle SiegRSS RacingFord124Running
192678Josh WilliamsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
2076Ryan VargasJD MotorsportsChevrolet124Running
213347Gray GauldingMike Harmon RacingChevrolet123Running
22117Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet122Fuel Pressure
233451Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet122Running
2442Sheldon CreedRichard Childress RacingChevrolet113Accident
252345Caesar BacarellaAlpha Prime RacingChevrolet113Accident
261519Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota110DVP
27221Austin HillRichard Childress RacingChevrolet110Accident
28141Sam MayerJR MotorsportsChevrolet109Accident
29848Kaz Grala*Big Machine Racing TeamChevrolet103Accident
301768Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet103Accident
31275Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet96Accident
323844Ryan EllisAlpha Prime RacingChevrolet84DVP
333508David StarrSS-Green Light RaicngFord83DVP
34511Daniel HemricKaulig RacingChevrolet79DVP
35354Ty GibbsJoe Gibbs RacingToyota76Accident
362866J.J. YeleyMBM MotorsportsChevrolet51DVP
372591Mason MasseyDGM RacingChevrolet47Accident
383026Chandler Smith*Sam Hunt RacingToyota47Accident
DNQ13Natalie DeckerMBM MotorsportsFord
DNQ34Jesse IwujiJesse Iwuji MotorsportsChevrolet
DNQ28C.J. McLaughlinRSS RacingFord
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
1606 posts

About author
Justin is a History major at San Jose State University and lifelong racing fan who has worked for The Checkered Flag since 2018. His coverage mainly focuses on NASCAR, the Stadium Super Trucks, and off-road series like Extreme E and SCORE International. He also dabbles in other disciplines such as IndyCar, rallycross, and sports cars.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Mason Filippi, Connor Mossack to make NASCAR debuts at Portland

2 Mins read
IMSA’s Mason Filippi and Trans-Am’s Connor Mosack will make their NASCAR Xfinity débuts at Portland for DGM Racing and Joe Gibbs Racing, respectively.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Tyler Reddick takes maiden win for Big Machine Racing

2 Mins read
Tyler Reddick’s domination of the final restart at Texas enabled him to secure the maiden NASCAR Xfinity victory for Scott Borchetta’s Big Machine Racing Team.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Justin Allgaier starts from rear, still leads most laps for Darlington win

2 Mins read
Despite starting at the back for a battery change, Justin Allgaier led 76 of 147 laps, including the final two in overtime to win at Darlington for the second straight year.