NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

37 comprise NWES grid for 2022

2 Mins read
Credit: Stephane Azemard/NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

Save for the pandemic-impacted 2021, the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series grid continues to grow with each season. For this weekend’s season opener at Valencia’s Circuit Ricardo Tormo, thirty-seven cars will comprise the field across the EuroNASCAR PRO and EuroNASCAR 2 levels; the thirty-seven is a series record, trumping the thirty for 2021.

As with any Silly Season, 2022 sees new faces in new places, perhaps most notably in three-time champion Alon Day moving from CAAL Racing to PK Carsport, with whom he won the 2020 title. Some drivers graduate from EuroNASCAR 2 to PRO like Tobias Dauenhauer and reigning champion Martin Doubek.

Others have never raced in the Euro Series before. Such débutants include sports car veteran Lucas Luhr, YouTube personality Alberto Naska, touring car regulars Christoph Lenz and Riccardo Romagnoli, European Abarth Trophy star Cosimo Barberini, and rally driver Yannick Panagiotis who was a team-mate to NWES CEO Jérôme Galpin at the Dakar Classic in January. Reigning champion Loris Hezemans will not defend his title as he is in America competing in the Cup Series, but his younger brother Liam is racing in EuroNASCAR 2 for the first time as a team-mate to Doubek.

European Truck Racing Championship outfit Buggyra ZM Racing will join NWES and field a pair of newcomers in sisters Aliyyah and Yasmeen Koloc. David Vršecký, a twice champion of the truck series, is scheduled to race part-time for the team, as is Gustas Grinbergas, who helped Cup Series driver Cody Ware win the 2019/20 Asian Le Mans Series. Racingfuel Motorsport is also a new organisation with Luhr.

Eleven cars are in the Club Challenge.


NumberTeamEuroNASCAR PRO driverEuroNASCAR 2 driverCar
1Academy Motorsport / Alex Caffi MotorsportThomas KrasonisAndrea Tronconi*Ford Mustang
2Academy Motorsport / Alex Caffi MotorsportFederico MontiKasparas Vingilis*EuroNASCAR FJ
3RDV CompetitionFrédéric GabillonUlysse DelsauxEuroNASCAR FJ
4PanasportPanagiotis YannickYannick Panagiotis*Ford Mustang
5Academy Motorsport / Alex Caffi MotorsportPatrick LemariéVladimiros TziortzisEuroNASCAR FJ
7Hendriks MotorsportMartin DoubekMartin DoubekFord Mustang
8Racers MotorsportDario CasoPaolo ValeriChevrolet Camaro
14SpeedhouseMarc GoossensArianna Casoli #Ford Mustang
16MK1 Racing – RaceArt TechnologyCappelli Claudio RemigioAlfredo de MatteoShadow DNM8
17MK1 Racing – RaceArt TechnologyManfre BernardoFrancesco Garisto*Shadow DNM8
18Race Art TechnologyGiorgio MaggiToyota Camry
23Team BleekemolenHenri TuomaalaLeevi LintukantoChevrolet Camaro
24PK CarsportAlon DayMalcharek ChristianChevrolet Camaro
25Not Only MotorsportPaolo Maria SilvestriniAlina Loibnegger #Chevrolet Camaro
27Double VNicolo RoccaPatrick Schober*Ford Mustang
29Buggyra ZM RacingAliyyah KolocAliyyah Koloc*#Ford Mustang
33SpeedhouseCosimo BarberiniPaul Jouffreau*Ford Mustang
36Not Only MotorsportVittorio GhirelliChevrolet Camaro
38Buggyra ZM RacingGustas GrinbergasYasmeen Koloc*#Ford Mustang
40SpeedhouseMatthias HauerFord Mustang
44Team BleekemolenJonne RautjarviJanne Koikkalainen*Chevrolet Camaro
46Marko Stipp MotorsportRomain IannettaMiguel GomesChevrolet Camaro
47Racers MotorsportLeonardo ColavitaLeonardo ColavitaChevrolet Camaro
48Marko Stipp MotorsportYevgen SokolovskiyYevgen SokolovskiyChevrolet Camaro
50Hendriks MotorsportTobias DauenhauerLiam Hezemans*Ford Mustang
54CAAL RacingGianmarco ErcoliLuli del Castello*#Chevrolet Camaro
55The Club MotorsportFabrizio ArmettaChevrolet Camaro
56CAAL RacingGil LinsterFord Mustang
58Racingfuel MotorsportLucas LuhrChristoph Lenz*Chevrolet Camaro
64SpeedhouseAlexander GraffEric QuintalFord Mustang
65The Club MotorsportRiccardo RomagnoliRoberto BenedettiChevrolet Camaro
69Team BleekemolenSebastiaan BleekemolenMelvin de GrootFord Mustang
72Team BleekemolenIan Eric WadénMichael BleekemolenFord Mustang
88CAAL RacingMassimiliano LanzaAlberto Naska*Chevrolet Camaro
89Not Only MotorsportDavide DallaraAlberto PanebiancoChevrolet Camaro
90Not Only MotorsportNicolò GabossiAdvait DeodharChevrolet Camaro
94Racingfuel MotorsportBruno StaubRoger Mettler*Chevrolet Camaro
Italics – Junior Trophy
Bold – Challenger Trophy
Underline – Legend Trophy
# – Lady Trophy
* – Rookie Trophy

Club Challenge

2Academy Motorsport / Alex Caffi MotorsportMonti FedericoEuroNASCAR FJ
25Not Only MotorsportJulian VanheelenChevrolet Camaro
33SpeedhousePaul JouffreauChevrolet Camaro
38Buggyra ZM RacingJosef MachacekFord Mustang
40SpeedhouseNeo LambertFord Mustang
46Marko Stipp MotorsportAndreas KuchelbacherChevrolet Camaro
48Marko Stipp MotorsportGordon BarnesChevrolet Camaro
58Racingfuel MotorsportChristoph LenzChevrolet Camaro
64SpeedhouseEric QuintalFord Mustang
89Not Only MotorsportEivind BrynildsenChevrolet Camaro
94Racingfuel MotorsportRoger MettlerChevrolet Camaro
1599 posts

About author
Justin is a History major at San Jose State University and lifelong racing fan who has worked for The Checkered Flag since 2018. His coverage mainly focuses on NASCAR, the Stadium Super Trucks, and off-road series like Extreme E and SCORE International. He also dabbles in other disciplines such as IndyCar, rallycross, and sports cars.
Related posts
NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

Lucas Luhr enters NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

1 Mins read
Sports car veteran Lucas Luhr will début in stock cars when he races in the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series’ EuroNASCAR PRO division for Racingfuel Motorsport.
NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

NWES allies with VP Racing Fuels, to use N20 sustainable fuel

2 Mins read
VP Racing Fuels has become the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series’ exclusive fuel supplier for the 2022 season, and will use a new N20 sustainable fuel formula. The NWES plans to become fossil fuel-free by 2025.
NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

NWES cancels Hockenheim, Vallelunga All-Star becomes points race

2 Mins read
The 2022 NASCAR Whelen Euro Series season will begin at Ricardo Tormo instead of Hockenheimring as previously planned. To make up for the lost round, the All-Star in Vallelunga now pays points.