FIA World Rally Championship

Tänak claims back-to-back win in Ypres Rally

2 Mins read
Credit: Jaanus Ree / Red Bull Content Pool

The Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT driver Ott Tänak stormed to Ypres Rally Belgium victory on the Sunday afternoon and claimed the back-to-back win by passing his teammate Thierry Neuville on the penultimate day as the Belgian home hero steered his Hyundai i20 N Rally1 car into a ditch.

Tänak who won the previous round at Secto Rally Finland in August, had a 8.2 seconds lead over Elfyn Evans, who pilots a Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 for the Japanese team Toyota Gazoo Racing, as they were heading in to the final leg of the rally around the Flanders region. Evans was not willing to give up without a fight and the Welshman took two fastest times on the two opening stages but it wasn´t enough to take snatch the win, he ended up with 5 seconds behind Tänak at the end of the power stage.

The success in Belgium means now the Estonian is closing in on the current championship leader Kalle Rovanperä, who had been going off on an opening day but later re-joined the rally on Saturday, with 72 points splitting the two drivers apart. However, Tänak did lose out value championship points when Rovanperä took home the five extra points from being the fastest on the power stage.

Evans´ teammate Esapekka Lappi bringed his Yaris home to a third place, making a double podium for Toyota, he trailed Evans with 1 minutes and 36.6 seconds but had a massive advantage over the fourth place finisher, the Hyundai´s Oliver Solberg by 1 minute and 46.9 seconds.

Credit: Jaanus Ree / Red Bull Content Pool

Solberg had a tight fight with the M-Sport´s Adrien Fourmaux but the Puma driver crashed out in the penultimate stage which resulted in a did not finish and handed the fifth place to Toyota´s rising star Takamoto Katsuta. Rounding up the top 10 were a couple of WRC2 drivers with Stéphane Lefebvre leading the charge ahead of the current championship leader Andreas Mikkelsen.

Pos.Driver / Co-DriverNat.TeamCarClassTime
1.Ott Tänak / Martin JärveojaEstoniaHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai i20 Rally1Rally12:58:38.9
2.Elfyn Evans / Scott MartinUnited KingdomToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota GR Yaris Rally1Rally1+ 5.0
3.Esapekka Lappi / Janne FermFinlandToyota Gazoo Racing WRTToyota GR Yaris Rally1Rally1+ 1:41.6
4.Oliver Solberg / Elliott EdmondsonSweden / IrelandHyundai Shell Mobis WRTHyundai i20 Rally1Rally1+ 3:28.5
5.Takamoto Katsuta / Aaron JohnstonJapan / United KingdomToyota Gazoo Racing NG WRTToyota GR Yaris Rally1Rally1+ 6:06.1
6.Stéphane Lefebvre / Andy MalfoyFranceDG SportCitroen C3 Rally2WRC2+ 9:45.7
7.Andreas Mikkelsen / Torstein EriksenNorwayToksport WRTSkoda Fabia Rally2 evoWRC2+ 10:03.8
8.Yohan Rossel / Valentin SarreaudFrancePH SportCitroen C3 Rally2WRC2+ 10:54.8
9.Chris Ingram / Craig DrewUnited KingdomToksport WRTSkoda Fabia Rally2 evoWRC2+ 11:20.8
10.Nikolay Gryazin / Konstantin AleksandrovANAToksport WRT 2Skoda Fabia Rally2 evoWRC2+ 11:26.8
Avatar photo
988 posts

About author
Covering off-road news for The Checkered Flag since 2019, with over 10 years of experience working with all sorts of publications, media & PR-related things in motorsport.
Related posts
DakarFIA World Rally Championship

Kenjiro Shinozuka, 1948–2024

1 Mins read
Kenjiro Shinozuka, the 1997 Paris–Dakar Rally victor and 2× World Rally Championship race winner, died Monday morning after a battle with pancreatic cancer. He was 75.
DakarFIA World Rally ChampionshipWRC2

Pierre-Louis Loubet: "Rally raid is really amazing, and I'm having so much fun"

2 Mins read
Before he heads back to his usual home in rally, WRC2 driver Pierre-Louis Loubet won five stages in his maiden rally raid at the Africa Eco Race and finished 11th overall.
DakarFIA World Rally Championship

Pierre-Louis Loubet to dabble in rally raid, entering 2024 Africa Eco Race

2 Mins read
WRC driver Pierre-Louis Loubet will run the 2024 Africa Eco Race in the new Apache APH-01, serving as a team-mate to ex-motocross ace Gautier Paulin.