Hill ignites title fight with Silverstone standout win

2 Mins read
Jake Hill - RoKIT MB Motorsport - Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Jake Hill is within only two points of Ash Sutton atop the Drivers Championship heading into the final race of the day at Silverstone after the RoKIT MB Motorsport driver ignited the title fight with victory in Round 26.

With only four races to go, there is only a blanket of 14 points between the top four making it one of the closest battles in years but a move from Hill could stand out if he wins the Drivers’ Championship at Brands Hatch.

Losing out to Gordon Shedden in the opening laps, he reversed the positions around the quarter distance mark making an undercut through Luffield and Woodcote completing the move before Copse and he sealed the win from there albeit through a safety car period after Ricky Collard’s Toyota set on fire.

His teammate, Rory Butcher had better luck as he held off the charge of brother-in-law, Gordon Shedden to finish second with new championship leader, Ash Sutton fending off Tom Ingram in fourth and fifth.

Josh Cook who finished sixth behind Adam Morgan and Dan Cammish will head onto reverse grid pole as all eyes will be on the title fight, one that the Rich Energy BTC Racing driver was involved in for most of the season. Colin Turkington himself just missed out on the top 12 finishing 13th as he aims to bank vital points going into the final meeting.

2022 British Touring Car Championship – Race 2 – Silverstone

1.      Jake HILL (GBR) ROKiT MB Motorsport 25 laps
2.      Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +2.092s
3.      Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +2.452s
4.      Ash SUTTON (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +2.886s
5.      Tom INGRAM (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +3.078s
6.      Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +3.412s
7.      Dan CAMMISH (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +4.189s
8.      Josh COOK (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +4.868s
9.      Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +5.897s
10.    Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Yazoo with Racing +6.868s
11.    Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +8.118s
12.    Tom CHILTON (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +8.449s
13.    Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +8.603s
14.    Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +8.925s
15.    Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +9.000s
16.    Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +11.812s
17.    Jason PLATO (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +12.980s
18.    Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +13.639s
19.    Michael CREES (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +13.885s
20.    George GAMBLE (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +14.230s
21.    Ash HAND (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +15.289s
22.    Jack BUTEL (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +15.469s
23.    Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +16.543s
24.    Jade EDWARDS (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +19.145s
25.    Will POWELL (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +20.728s
26.    Rick PARFITT (GBR) Uptonsteel with Euro Car Parts Racing +22.168s
27.    Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +9 laps
28.    Nic HAMILTON (GBR) Yazoo with Racing +13 laps
29.    Dexter PATTERSON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +21 laps

Avatar photo
283 posts

About author
Head British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) writer for The Checkered Flag - passionate about Motorsport from a young age, also writes predominately about Darts, Tennis and Basketball for other publications full time.
Related posts

Ash Sutton regains BTCC Drivers' Championship with rampant race one win at Brands Hatch

2 Mins read
Imperious Ash Sutton took the BTCC Drivers’ title for a fourth time in the first race at Brands Hatch GP finishing off an incredible season.

Turkington tops Silverstone reverse grid race with 150th race win for BMW

2 Mins read
Four-time BTCC champion, Colin Turkington may be all but out of the BTCC Drivers’ Championship hunt, but concluded Silverstone with a milestone…

Sutton seals mind blowing Silverstone win from 23rd on the grid

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton is at it again in a drive that may have just sealed another BTCC Drivers’ Championship for the imperious NAPA…